Daily Archives: February 10, 2017

Out in My Garden…My Favorite Hobby #MFRWauthor

Besides writing, I love to garden. I have a substantial English/Cottage garden that surrounds my house and takes up most of my yard.  I also have a sizable vegetable garden and love to can the bounty that comes from it. I’m always changing something in it. Despite having a book to write this spring, I plan to rip things apart again and redesign some of it.  Today, I’m going to take you on a tour of my favorite place to be in the spring…

.

img_0380

Even in winter, I love my garden when it snows.  This picture was taken a couple of years ago.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.
spring, flowers, gardening

From February to November, something is always in bloom in my garden. These are commonly called snowdrops, the botanical name is Galanthus. Although they are not as gorgeous as tulips and daffodils, when I see them every late winter—sometimes even peeking their white flowers out of the snow—I know Spring is not far away.

 

 

 

 

These pictures show some of my favorite April to June flowers.

spring, flowers, gardening Spring, flowers, gardening spring, flowers, gardenign spring, gardening, flowers

spring, flowers, gardening contemporary western romantic suspesne authror Sara Walter Ellwood spring, flowers, gardening spring, flowers, gardening

 

100_0541_resized

I love butterflies… In fact, the premise for my story Gambling On A Secret came from watching one of these guys break out of it’s cocoon.

.

.

.

.

 

.

Here is a great shot of my vegetable garden… And what I like to do with the tomatoes–home made spaghetti sauce. Yum!

img_0463  img_0250-small

.

Just a few of the many garden pictures I’ve taken over the years. These pictures were taken about 10 years apart.

flowers, gardening, spring  img_0465-small

100_0471   img_0109-small

100_0474   img_0104-small

.

plantsI even bring the garden inside….

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

 

 

And finally, here are a few photos of my gardening partner….

100_0832-small  100_0945-small

.

Hope you enjoyed the tour.

.

 
Check out other authors in the Challenge here:

badge-blog-challenge

Categories: Insights, Out In The Garden | Tags: , , , , | 10 Comments

Blog at WordPress.com.

