Review–WHAT I LOVE ABOUT YOU by Rachel Gibson

What I Love About You  by Rachel Gibson

What I Love About You

Truly, Idaho # 3

By

Rachel Gibson

Releasing August 26th, 2014

Avon Romance

 

Blurb:

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Gibson returns to Truly, Idaho, and to the fate of sexy SEAL Blake Junger

GIMMEE A B-R-E-A-K!

Ex-high school cheerleader Natalie Cooper could once shake her pom-poms with the best of them. But she’s paid for all that popularity—her husband’s run off with what’s left of their money and a twenty-year-old bimbo named Tiffany. Leaving Natalie to manage a photo store and having to see some pictures she, well, really shouldn’t.

GIMMEE A S-H-O-T!

Then she comes toe-to-manly chest with Blake Junger. Exiled to a remote cabin in Truly, Idaho, Blake wants nothing to do with anyone. Instead, he’s determined to struggle with his demons and win—all on his own. But the last thing he needs is Natalie distracting him with her luscious curves and breaking down the barriers of his heart.
GIMMEE YOUR H-E-A-R-T!

Can be read as a standalone. Returns to Truly, ID and is about the second Junger twin, Blake Junger.

 

 What-I-Love-About-You-Rachel-Gibson (1)

 To Follow the Tour 

8bdd8-goodreads

 

Review:

Let me say first that I’m an avid Rachel Gibson reader. She’s one of only a few authors that are on my auto buy list. So, I jumped at the chance to review What I Love About You even though I don’t do many reviews.

This book wasn’t Ms. Gibson’s best. The plot was thin and felt weak in places. But her characterizations are good for the most part.  I loved Blake. He’s an ex-Navy SEAL trying to adjust to not only retirement, but is a recovering alcoholic, who thinks he can do it all on his own.  However, I think Ms. Gibson could have done so much more here with his character. It was hinted that he had PTSD, but it was totally glossed over.  Natalie wasn’t Ms. Gibson’s best heroine, but she was likable and was a great mom, who was trying to make her way back from heartbreak and scandal when her ex-husband ran off with half the town’s money when he embezzled it from his investment company.  What I found hard to swallow (and maybe this is the author in me talking) were the information dumps. There were times while reading those first couple of chapters I felt like screaming—“What the h… She should know better than to do this.” I really think the story would have felt less rushed and a lot more developed if she’d taken the time to create scenes in which this back story could have been more effectively sprinkled throughout the story.

My favorite character, however, was Charlotte, Natalie’s daughter. I loved how Ms. Gibson gave her so much depth by giving her so much personality. I loved that she would gallop around pretending to be Bow Tie, which of course was a “hoss.” It was really cute that she couldn’t say her Rs and Blake, a man more comfortable around high-powered sniper automatic rifles than five-year-old little girls, had a hard time understanding her. I did also like that Mike, Natalie’s ex, wanted to be a part of Charlotte’s life after getting out of jail, but found this plot thread really weak on development.

The ending was rushed when compared to the beginning of the book. But I really found the love story a little hard to believe. I did like that Ms. Gibson didn’t run to the bedroom in the first part of the book, but once Blake and Natalie did get there, it still felt rushed because so little time was spent on “showing” the two falling in love.

As with most of Ms. Gibson’s romances, the humor was spot on. I was laughing in the first chapter and had more than one embarrassing moment when I’d get strange looks because I’d burst out with a case of the giggles.

All in all, this was a good read, if not completely satisfying. I ended it feeling like the story was missing something. I’ll continue reading Gibson books, if for no other reason than they always put a smile on my face while reading her wonderful humor.

I give this story 3 out of 5 stars.

I was giving an ARC of this book for an honest review.

 

Buy Links:

Amazon  |  Barnes and Noble  |  Kobo  |  iTunes

 

About the Author:Rachel Gibson

Rachel Gibson lives in Idaho with her husband, three kids, two cats and a dog of mysterious origin. She began her fiction career at age 16, when she ran her car into the side of a hill, retrieved the bumper, and drove to a parking lot, where she strategically scattered the car’s broken glass all about. She told her parents she’d been the victim of a hit and run and they believed her. She’s been making up stories ever since, although she gets paid better for them nowadays.

Author Links:

Website  |   Facebook  |  Goodreads 

 

A Rafflecopter Giveaway (Two Print Copies of WHAT I LOVE ABOUT YOU)

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Review–WHAT I LOVE ABOUT YOU by Rachel Gibson

  1. Thank you for hosting today!

Don't forget to feed the horses.... They like comments!

Blog at WordPress.com.

