Interview with Juli D. Revezzo author of the New Adult Paranormal Romance CHANGLING’S CROWN

Today I welcome Juli D. Revezzo to the blog… Juli, let’s start with you telling us a little about yourself.

I’m a Florida girl, a writer, a romantic, and a lover of all things mythic and fantasy related—and a little history too. I’m constantly reading and researching. I also piddle around with photography, and drumming.

 

When did you start writing?

Like most writers, I’ve told stories all my life. I didn’t start thinking of it professionally until I got into college, though.

 

What genre/genres do you write?

I write paranormal fantasy and fantasy romance. Changeling’s Crown is a New Adult fantasy romance.

 

If you are a pantser, how do you handle when you write into a corner?

Usually, I take a break, go read or even write a whole different story, until I can figure out how to unstick myself.

 

If you are a plotter, how do you handle when your characters decide they don’t like you have plotted and do their own thing?

I do plot a tiny bit but believe it or not, that hat comes on about the time my characters start to say they don’t like where the story is going.

 

Whatever became of your very first book?

It’s still hanging around on a disk somewhere. J

 

Who inspired/inspires you and why?

Who inspires me? The writers of ancient stories. Heck, if they can write stuff that last through the ages, and I have the bug to write, why can’t I strive to be like them? I think all authors should, don’t you?

 

What advice would you give to new authors?

No matter what, if you love writing, keep at it. You’ll get better with practice. Just don’t give up on yourself!

 

Do you have any other books? What do you have planned next?

Yes. I’ve two paranormal romances out right now, one, a mystery PNR, Murder Upon a Midnight Clear and a Celtic mythology based PNR called Passion’s Sacred Dance. I’ve also written a paranormal fantasy series, Antique Magic and at the moment, I’m working on a Gothic paranormal romance for release sometime in the next few months.

 

What inspired you to write Changeling’s Crown?

Actually, the scene with Ianthe and Briak in the Honky Tonk? That scene popped into my head one day and from there, the whole story took off.

 

What can you tell us about Changeling’s Crown that isn’t in the blurb or excerpt?

I think fans of Once Upon a Time, and perhaps lovers of Norse Mythology will enjoy it, as it has a slight flavor of that mixed into its world.

 

 Is Changeling’s Crown part of a series? If so, tell us about it.

No. Or, rather, not at the moment. I’ve kicked around ideas for other stories in that world, but nothing’s gelled yet.

 

Was Changeling’s Crown easy to write?

Yes and no. That scene I mentioned above? That was the only scene I had for months on end. When I realized Ianthe wasn’t just going to the ranch to arrange a party—that she was, in fact, a faery godmother, that’s when the writing got easier. I finished the first draft up fairly quickly, after that.

 

How long did it take you to write?

Altogether, about nine months.

 

What is your favorite part? (If you’d like to share a little excerpt of that part, you may do so.)

I loved the scene when Ianthe realized her rival had possession of her horse, the one just following that when Briak’s saved her, and now she’s on the spot. And the Wild Hunt scene at the end, all of which are probably my favorites.

This is the possessed horse/saving her from that wild ride scene (in it, Geldon is Ianthe’s rival in the Faery godmother world, and the one possessing the horse).

Ianthe urged the horse again. Geldon obliged, stepping backwards. “Do you think horses make good steaks?” she threatened.

He bucked. She tightened her grip on the reins.

“You’re doing fine, Miss Hypericum,” Briak called.

She nodded and returned her attention to the horse. “Do that again, and I’ll look into putting you out to pasture.”

“You wouldn’t dare.”

“She’s not looking at her business partner, is she?” Geldon said.

“Your fault, I’m sure,” Ianthe quipped.

“How so?” Geldon asked.

“You’re talking about harming her stock, of course she’d be distracted.” Sarcasm oozed again from her words.

Geldon caused the horse to clench its teeth on the bit, bucked, and took off at top speed.

“What are you doing?” Ianthe demanded.

He jumped the four-foot high fence and raced past men and women, past trucks and horse trailers, then headed for the ranch’s main gate. “Removing the harmful element.”

With the giggling and shouts of the children and staff at her back, Ianthe tugged at the reins. The mare wouldn’t heed her orders. Doors slammed in the distance. “Where are you going? Stop it! Halt!”

The horse slipped through the open gate, onto the dirt road. “Not until I take this up with Ms. Siabelle.”

“What do you think I’ve done?”

“Exactly. You’re wasting time,” he said. “I’d be more help with one snap of my fingers.”

He knew it wasn’t that easy, the sarcastic son of a—

He bucked. “Whoa!” she cried. “Damn you!” No matter how Ianthe tugged at the reins Geldon refused to stop. “I’m going to talk to her about clipping your wings!” she vowed.

“Right after I tell her to revoke your faery dust supply.”

Faery dust, that’s what she needed! She wondered how much it would take to knock Geldon unconscious—for a century.

“Miss Hypericum!” someone shouted.

She looked over her shoulder. A silver crew-cab pickup truck caught up with her, Mallory at the wheel. Briak perched on the tailgate.

The horse slowed. The truck too.

“Whoa!” Briak said. He slid off the tailgate and grasped the bridle, calming the horse as he did. “I don’t know what happened.”

She knew, but how could she tell? She slapped the horse’s neck. “I guess I spooked him.”

“Ouch,” said Geldon.

“Her,” Briak said.

“Her?” Ianthe giggled. “Right. I mean, I guess I spooked her.”

Briak reached up for her. “Let me help you down.”

The horse reared.

“Whoa!” Ianthe lost her grip and flew out of the saddle, landing hard on the packed earth. Pain shot up her tailbone. “Oh, son of a goblin!”

Briak yanked the bridle, stepped close to the horse, and spoke to it under his breath. The horse stilled. Briak glared at it then turned and reached a hand down to help her up. “Are you okay?”

“Do you really think I look okay?” she snapped.

The horse waited as docile—and confused—as if someone had put her under a spell. The impish Geldon, it seemed, no longer possessed her. Ianthe was certain he was hiding out somewhere nearby, though, enjoying this spectacle.

“I think you look fine,” Briak said. “But then, I’ve always had a thing for women who don’t mind a little mud.”

Ianthe glared, then realized Briak was teasing. He offered her a clean handkerchief to replace the muddy one she sat on.

“For the mud,” he said. “Come on. Let’s get you cleaned up.”

 

What was your least favorite part to write?

Well? Changeling’s Crown didn’t give me much trouble. I did write, rewrite, and temper Ianthe and Briak’s love scene more than a time or two, though.

 

Who was easier to write–Hero or Heroine? Why?

Believe it or not, my hero, Briak. Why? I think because I got to play with the two different sides of his personality, where the heroine was more buttoned up. That alone made Ianthe a bit tough to write.

 

Why are your hero and heroine perfect for each other?

Because Briak brings out things in Ianthe she knew were there, but didn’t know why and fought against. And because the way he tries to please her, is sweet, and led to some comic moments I hope readers will love.

 

What can you tell us about your world building? What makes your world stand out?

That it’s a mix of modern day cowboy/southern and idealistic multilayered faery world. That’s something I haven’t seen done very much.

 

Now for some fun questions:

What’s your favorite TV show or movie of all time?

Of all time? That’s a tough question! TV show, I’d have to say Beauty and the Beast (the version with Linda Hamilton from the late 80s), Star Trek, (and Star Trek NG) and right now, Once Upon a Time. Favorite movie? Excalibur.

 

If you could chose a period in history to be born in, what would it be and why?

The Renaissance. Despite the lack of modern conveniences and suchlike, I dream of living in that artistic world. J Or the Celtic era. I’d love, love, love to know some of the things we don’t know about them—and to encourage them to write some things down!

 

What was the most embarrassing thing your husband/boyfriend/partner/friend ever did to you in public?

He’s a sweetheart so he doesn’t do embarrassing things to me (god, who would want a man that would?) I did have to have him carry me down some steep stairs once though. Yeah, I’m not too fond of heights.

 

What is the one place you have never visited but would love to?

Italy or Ireland or I guess I should say Italy and Ireland. If I had to pick one, Ireland.

 

If you were stranded on a desert island and could chose any famous person (living or dead), who would you chose to be stranded with you and why?

Virginia Woolf. I love her work and her free spirit; and I’d love to pick her brain.

 

Quick Quiz:

Cake or Chips–Chips.

Steak or Veggie Burger—Steak

Chocolates or Roses–Roses

Boxers or Briefs or Nothing at all—Briefs

And since I write both, I have to know which you prefer… Vampires or Cowboys–Oh, heck! I love both. But I think I’d lean toward vampires. Come on, Sara, can’t I choose Vampire cowboy? 😉

 

~*~

 

Changling's Crown by Juli D Revezzo

 

Changeling’s Crown

By

Juli D. Revezzo

 

Blurb:

When Ianthe began her career as a faery godmother, she stumbled so badly that Snow White will probably never speak to her again. After a long suspension, she’s finally been given a chance to redeem herself…but everything on this latest assignment is going wrong.

But why?

Worse, she definitely doesn’t need an attractive mortal man distracting her from her duties. Of course, needs and wants are two different things.

Briak has had his eye on Ianthe for a very, very long time, but he’s been waiting for just the right moment to make his move. Despite the fact all hell’s about to break loose on his watch, he can’t resist the opportunity to insert himself into her earthly assignment. Can he convince Ianthe of her true calling and thereby win her heart? Or will his subterfuge ultimately cost him her love?

 

Excerpt:

Ianthe urged the horse again. Geldon obliged, stepping backwards. “Do you think horses make good steaks?” she threatened.

He bucked. She tightened her grip on the reins.

“You’re doing fine, Miss Hypericum,” Briak called.

She nodded and returned her attention to the horse. “Do that again, and I’ll look into putting you out to pasture.”

“You wouldn’t dare.”

“She’s not looking at her business partner, is she?” Geldon said.

“Your fault, I’m sure,” Ianthe quipped.

“How so?” Geldon asked.

“You’re talking about harming her stock, of course she’d be distracted.” Sarcasm oozed again from her words.

Geldon caused the horse to clench its teeth on the bit, bucked, and took off at top speed.

“What are you doing?” Ianthe demanded.

He jumped the four-foot high fence and raced past men and women, past trucks and horse trailers, then headed for the ranch’s main gate. “Removing the harmful element.”

With the giggling and shouts of the children and staff at her back, Ianthe tugged at the reins. The mare wouldn’t heed her orders. Doors slammed in the distance. “Where are you going? Stop it! Halt!”

The horse slipped through the open gate, onto the dirt road. “Not until I take this up with Ms. Siabelle.”

“What do you think I’ve done?”

“Exactly. You’re wasting time,” he said. “I’d be more help with one snap of my fingers.”

He knew it wasn’t that easy, the sarcastic son of a—

He bucked. “Whoa!” she cried. “Damn you!” No matter how Ianthe tugged at the reins Geldon refused to stop. “I’m going to talk to her about clipping your wings!” she vowed.

“Right after I tell her to revoke your faery dust supply.”

Faery dust, that’s what she needed! She wondered how much it would take to knock Geldon unconscious—for a century.

“Miss Hypericum!” someone shouted.

She looked over her shoulder. A silver crew-cab pickup truck caught up with her, Mallory at the wheel. Briak perched on the tailgate.

The horse slowed. The truck too.

“Whoa!” Briak said. He slid off the tailgate and grasped the bridle, calming the horse as he did. “I don’t know what happened.”

She knew, but how could she tell? She slapped the horse’s neck. “I guess I spooked him.”

“Ouch,” said Geldon.

“Her,” Briak said.

“Her?” Ianthe giggled. “Right. I mean, I guess I spooked her.”

Briak reached up for her. “Let me help you down.”

The horse reared.

“Whoa!” Ianthe lost her grip and flew out of the saddle, landing hard on the packed earth. Pain shot up her tailbone. “Oh, son of a goblin!”

Briak yanked the bridle, stepped close to the horse, and spoke to it under his breath. The horse stilled. Briak glared at it then turned and reached a hand down to help her up. “Are you okay?”

“Do you really think I look okay?” she snapped.

The horse waited as docile—and confused—as if someone had put her under a spell. The impish Geldon, it seemed, no longer possessed her. Ianthe was certain he was hiding out somewhere nearby, though, enjoying this spectacle.

“I think you look fine,” Briak said. “But then, I’ve always had a thing for women who don’t mind a little mud.”

Ianthe glared, then realized Briak was teasing. He offered her a clean handkerchief to replace the muddy one she sat on.

“For the mud,” he said. “Come on. Let’s get you cleaned up.”

 

Buy Links:

Amazon  |  Barnes and Noble  |  Smashwords  |   In paperback from Createspace 

 

b9462-images811e8e1w

 

 

 

About the Author:JuliDRevezzob

Juli D. Revezzo is a Florida girl, with a love of fantasy, science fiction, and Arthurian legend, and loves writing stories with all kinds of fantastical elements. Aside from Changeling’s Crown, she is the author of The Antique Magic series and the Paranormal Romance Harshad Wars series and many short stories. She is also a member of the Independent Author Network and the Magic Appreciation Tour. Come learn more about her at http://julidrevezzo.com

 

Author Links:

Website  |  Facebook  |   Twitter  |  Goodreads  |   Pinterest

 

 

Genre:  New Adult (sweet) fantasy romance

Release Date: June 5

Length: 160 pages

Cover art by Boulevard Photografica

Categories: Lassoing the Words of Romance | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Interview with Juli D. Revezzo author of the New Adult Paranormal Romance CHANGLING’S CROWN

  1. Thank you for hosting me today, Sara! i enjoyed visiting the ranch. You’ve a lovely place, here. 🙂

Don't forget to feed the horses.... They like comments!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

