Daily Archives: June 17, 2014

Interview with Kay LaLone author of the YA novel GHOSTLY CLUES

Today, I’d like to welcome, Kay LaLone to the blog… Tell us a little about yourself.

Hi, I’m Kay LaLone author of Ghostly Clues. I love writing MG to YA novels. Most of my stories have a paranormal, ghostly twist to them.

When did you start writing?

I remember writing at a young age. I sat at the kitchen table writing a story about a deer and asking my mother how to spell words that I couldn’t spell. I have always had a love for writing and reading. About fifteen years ago, I started writing for publication by writing short stories for magazines.

If you are a pantser, how do you handle when you write into a corner?

When I write myself into a corner on one writing projcet, I’ll work on another project. Then later when I go back to that project, I have a different perspective.

What do you think makes a good story?

Characters. I love to read stories with interesting characters. I like it when the author makes the characters come to life for me and I feel like the characters are my friends.

What advice would you give to new authors?

Write, write, write and read, read, read.

What inspired you to write Ghostly Clues?

The death of my grandma inspired me to write Ghostly Clues. I was about Sarah Kay’s age, the main character in Ghostly Clues, when my grandmother passed away. I remember one night seeing a ghostly hand crawl up my bed. I believe it was my grandma’s way of telling me I was too old to sleep with a doll. That memory has been with me and helped to spark the idea for Ghostly Clues.

Was Ghostly Clues easy to write?

Not really. It took many years of rewrites before I was happy with it enough to send it out to publishers.

How long did it take you to write?

About five years off and on. I always have several writing projects going at once.

Who was easier to write–Hero or Heroine? Why?

My main character Sarah Kay was easy to write because she is a lot like me.

  

Now for some fun:

What’s your favorite TV show or movie of all time?

My favorite TV show is Supernatural and my favorite movie is Grease.

If you could chose a period in history to be born in, what would it be and why?

I would have to say the 50’s I think. Back then people seemed to have more fun and it would be cool to see my parents as teenagers.

What was the most embarrassing thing your husband/boyfriend/partner/friend ever did to you in public?

My husband is always saying something in public that can be embarrassing. But it mostly embarrasses others and not me. After 30 years of marriage, I don’t get embarrassed that easily anymore.

 What is the one place you have never visited but would love to?

One of these days I would love to visit all 50 states.

If you were stranded on a desert island and could chose any famous person (living or dead), who would you chose to be stranded with you and why?

My favorite author Nora Roberts. She could give me pointers on writing characters.

 

Quick Quiz:

Cake or Chips

Chips

Steak or Veggie Burger

Steak

Chocolates or Roses

Roses

Boxers or Briefs or Nothing at all

Nothing at all

And since I write both, I have to know which you prefer… Vampires or Cowboys

Vampires

 

Thanks, Sara, for having me on your blog.

 

~*~

Ghostly Clues by Kay LaLone

Ghostly Clues

By

Kay LaLone

 

Blurb:

The sweet scent of lilacs permeates the air around Grandma’s gravesite. Only Sarah Kay can smell Grandma’s favorite flower, and they’re not even in bloom.

Sarah Kay and her best friend, Mary Jane, believe the lilacs are a sign from Grandma’s ghost. The girls follow one ghostly clue after another, uncovering a secret that Mom never wanted Sarah Kay to know.

Grandma makes sure Sarah Kay gets the message even from the grave.

 

Excerpt:

The house was blanketed in a quiet slumber. I snuggled under the sleeping bag with Allison, trying not to think about ghosts, as I drifted to sleep.

Random pictures floated in my mind like ghostly images.

I tiptoed among tombstones and my heart ached as if I had lost something or someone. He had to be here, somewhere. The gravestones rose like stone walls. No names engraved on them. No dates. No R.I.P. Nothing. Just smooth, flat stones. Ghosts—grayish, smoky forms with black eyes—floated over the tombstones.  I shivered, suddenly cold, freezing. My breath visible like a little ghost. I didn’t want to look at the ghost anymore so I looked down at my feet. A tombstone with Grandma’s name appeared out of nowhere. The earth moved. The dirt around the headstone broke away and gnarled fingers clawed their way into the air, searching, grasping. Shriveled fingers clutched my leg.

Something grabbed at my leg—the hand, I screamed and frantically wiggled out of my sleeping bag, bumping MJ as I tried to get away from the hand I thought I felt grab at my leg.

 

Buy Links:

MuseItUp  |   Amazon

 

Meet Kay…

I’m Kay LaLone. Ghostly Clues is my first middle grade novel published by MuseItUp. I live in Michigan with my husband and Kay LaLoneteenage son (two older sons and a daughter-in-law live near by) and two dogs and a cat. I love to get up every morning and write about ghosts, the paranormal, and anything that goes bump in the night. Or anything that interest my characters. Making my characters come to life for readers is important to a good story. I’m an avid reader of just about any type of book. I do reviews on the books I read and post them on my website and blog.

Author Links:

Website  |  Blog  

 

Categories: Lassoing the Words of Romance | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

