Interview with Stacy Juba author of TWENTY-FIVE YEARS AGO TODAY

I’d like to welcome Stacy Juba today.  Let’s start with what genre or genres do you write?

I write adult mystery/romantic suspense novels, romantic comedy/sweet romance, young adult novels and children’s books.

 

If you are a plotter, how do you handle when your characters decide they don’t like what you have plotted and do their own thing?

I am an extensive plotter and always refer to an outline when I’m writing. However, my characters do start doing their own thing from time to time. Sometimes I’ll shake my head and chuckle and say, “I can’t believe she just did that.” Then I will scribble the changes on the hard copy of my outline. If the changes become extensive, then I’ll update the outline on the computer and print out a fresh copy. 

 

Whatever became of your very first book?

My very first book, a young adult novel called Face-Off, is actually still available for purchase. I wrote this story, a young adult novel about twin hockey stars that battle off and on the ice, when I was in high school and I was thrilled to get a publishing contract soon afterwards. I recently brought out a new paperback edition, audiobook edition, and e-book edition. A few manuscripts that I wrote after that, however, are in a plastic bin in my closet and will be staying there!

 

What inspired you to write Twenty-Five Years Ago Today?

I once worked as a newspaper editorial assistant and one of my responsibilities was compiling the 25 Years Ago Today column from the microfilm. I decided to write a mystery about an editorial assistant who stumbles across a cold case while researching her column.

 

What can you tell us about Twenty-Five Years Ago Today that isn’t in the blurb or excerpt?

I’ve always liked Greek mythology and wanted to incorporate it as a subplot in the book. The murder victim, Diana Ferguson, did paintings of Greek mythology scenes and there could be a clue to her death in one of the paintings. Diana’s sister owns a used bookstore. Years ago, when I was about ten, I bought a Greek mythology book at a used bookstore very much like the bookstore in Twenty-Five Years Ago Today. I referred to that book of myths when I was deciding which stories would inspire Diana.        

 

What is your favorite part?

My favorite part is the climax, as a lot of readers don’t see that ending coming. I enjoy surprising people.

 

Now for Some Fun…

What’s your favorite TV show or movie of all time?

I’m a big fan of Once Upon a Time. My favorite all time movie is Return of the Jedi.

 

If you could chose a period in history to be born in, what would it be and why?

Definitely in the present with all of our technological advances. 

 

What was the most embarrassing thing your husband/boyfriend/partner/friend ever did to you in public?

He threw me in the ocean once!

 

What is the one place you have never visited but would love to?

I’d like to visit Venice. My husband and I visited Rome and Florence, but didn’t have time to see Venice.

 

If you were stranded on a desert island and could choose any famous person (living or dead), who would you chose to be stranded with you and why?

Hmm…I’m thinking it would be handy to be stranded with the president of the United States, as there will be a lot of search parties out there looking for us!  

 

Quick Quiz:

Cake or Chips – Cake

Steak or Veggie Burger – Steak

Chocolates or Roses – Chocolate

Boxers or Briefs or Nothing at all – Boxers

And since I write both, I have to know which you prefer… Vampires or Cowboys – Vampires

 

~*~

 Twenty-Five Years Ago Today by Stacy Juba

Twenty-Five Years Ago Today

By

Stacy Juba

Blurb:

Twenty-Five Years Ago Today: Should we dig for the truth when Pandora’s Box is a coffin of buried secrets? For twenty-five years, Diana Ferguson’s killer has gotten away with murder. When rookie obit writer and newsroom editorial assistant Kris Langley investigates the cold case of the artistic young cocktail waitress who was obsessed with Greek and Roman mythology, not only does she fall in love with Diana’s sexy nephew, but she must also fight to stay off the obituary page herself.A unique blend of literary mystery, cozy mystery, and romantic suspense. Get in on the secret – join thousands of readers in discovering who killed Diana Ferguson.

 

Buy Links:

Amazon  |  Barnes and Noble  |  Kobo  |  Audible  |  iBookstore 

 

Meet Stacy…

Stacy Juba loves to write stories about Characters at a Crossroads: individuals who are finding themselves and getting on the right life path after overcoming obstacles. Her goals are to entertain readers of all ages as well as inspire them. She has made numerous bestseller lists including GalleyCat’s Barnes & Noble Bestsellers and GalleyCat’s Mystery and Thriller Bestsellers. Stacy has written about reality TV contestants targeted by a killer, an obit writer investigating a cold case, teen psychics who control minds, twin high school hockey stars battling on the ice, and teddy bears learning to raise the U.S. flag. She has had a book ranked as #5 in the Nook Store and #30 on the Amazon Kindle Paid List. Browse her website http://www.stacyjuba.com for more information on her mystery, romance, and contemporary fiction books for adults, teens, and children, guest author features and resources on how to build your own “character,” and for her book/product reviews and advocacy relating to Type 1 Diabetes.

 

Author Links:

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter

 

Categories: Lassoing the Words of Romance | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Don't forget to feed the horses.... They like comments!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

