Daily Archives: June 5, 2014

Interview with Guy Ogan author of IMMORTAL RELATIONS

Tell us a little about yourself.

I have two graduate degrees, neither in English or Literature. I retired from the USAF in 1988 as a Major and retired from the Texas Department of Criminal Justice (the Texas Prison System) in 2003 as a Psychologist.

When did you start writing?

I’ve always been writing in various capacities in the military, as part of my graduate programs, and in psychology where I wrote a book on assessment and possible treatments for ADHD as well as treatment programs for inmates who had been substance abusers and addicts.

What genre/genres do you write?

My passions are reading and writing paranormal-romance novels that have some very good vampires and a great deal of action.

What inspired you to write “Immortal Relations” and the other books in the series?

When I found the photograph with the writing on the back that indicated that my late father had had a tryst while stationed overseas right after World War Two, I felt compelled to write my first novel which has that picture on page two.

What can you tell us about “Immortal Relations” that isn’t in the blurb or excerpt?

It was a cathartic experience visiting and finding my late father’s paramour if only in the pages of my novel. Creating the novel seemed far more like “channeling” than anything else and while I used to be a fairly quick typist my hands literally flew over the keys as if they had a mind of their own during the short time it took to write it.

Is “Immortal Relations” part of a series? If so, tell us about it.

Immortal Relations by Guy OganYes, “Immortal Relations” is the first novel and it is clearly for ADULTS as it has a good deal of “explicit togetherness” (s-e-x) not to be salacious but to show that the good vampires don’t suffer from human hang-ups about sex. There is a tremendous amount of “Life Lessons” and passion as well as some combat between an evil gang of vampires and our guardian vampires. Amazon is the buy site.

 

 

“Immortal Relations, Love and War” is the secoImmortal Relations Love and War by Guy Ogannd book in the series and I call it “Action on Steroids.” There are terrorist acts, an invasion by Communist China of Siberia which could turn into a nuclear war, potential (real world ecological disasters) and yet there is still time for a couple of weddings and vampire children. Amazon is the buy site.

 

 

Immortal Relations Coming Out by Guy Ogan“Immortal Relations Coming Out” is the third in the series and has political intrigue and conspiracy as a Marxist regime in Washington seeks to murder its enemies. Amazon is the buy site.

The first two novels are based primarily in The Czech Republic, England, Russia and Belgium, with China and Japan added in the second. The third starts in The Czech Republic but the action quickly shifts to Canada and later to Russia for another wedding. There is much in the book having to do with Washington D.C. and partly in Las Vegas as well. A new element introduced in the story is the discovery of a young shape-shifter wolf (who had no idea he was a shifter). He becomes an important ally and a love interest for one of the young lady hybrid-vampires.

Why are your hero and heroine perfect for each other?

Magdalena had a sense that something was about to happen, perhaps that her old paramour was returning to Prague and she had alerted her adopted daughter and the other guardian vampires to be on the lookout for him near Prague’s Old Town Hall and its wall clock (as seen in the picture on page two of “Immortal Relations”). Seeing Gary she realizes it was her paramour’s son, but she feels toward him the same draw she had toward his father. Gary also feels the powerful draw toward her that his father had, but recognizes she is a vampire…falling in love he doesn’t care!

What’s your favorite TV show or movie of all time?

There are so very many that I love; however, being an action junky and always wanting “right” to triumph over evil, as well as someone who loves a pure yet passionate love story, I’d have to pick the film made from the book J.R.R. Tolkien wrote, “Return of the King.” When young I read “The Hobbit,” “The Fellowship of the Ring,” “The Two Towers” & “The Return of the King” until the bindings fell apart.

If you could chose a period in history to be born in, what would it be and why?

I would have wanted to have been a young adult just before the outbreak of WW-II. From all I’ve read the handwriting was clearly on the wall and I would have wanted to try and volunteer, as an American, serving in the Royal Air Force. People like R.J. Mitchell, designer of the Supermarine Spitfire is a hero of mine…although he was dying, rather than staying in bed to extend his life a little, he doggedly dedicated himself to seeing Britain had the fighter needed to defend against the Luftwaffe. As Winston Churchill (another hero of mine) said, “Never have so many, owed so much, to so few!” The RAF along with all the forces fighting against fascism literally saved mankind from three regimes that were evil incarnate!

What was the most embarrassing thing your husband/boyfriend/partner/friend ever did to you in public?

My wife is a Saint (she’d have to be to put up with me) LOL So I don’t know of a single thing she has ever done to embarrass me in public!

What is the one place you have never visited but would love to?

The Heritage Museum, St. Petersburg, in the Russian Federation. I’ve seen it in a Television Special and the building and treasures within are breathtaking. It is the site for two of the weddings in my novels!

If you were stranded on a desert island and could choose any famous person (living or dead), who would you chose to be stranded with you and why?

Well, my wife of course (there she would have my undivided attention rather than me at my computer writing my books, doing blogs or replying to E-Mails)! LOL

Quick Quiz:

1. Cake or Chips Cake, look at my waistline and you’ll know that.

2. Steak or Veggie Burger Steak, comment above applies!

3. Chocolates or Roses OMG…Chocolates of course (same comment applies)!

4. Boxers or Briefs or Nothing at all Boxers (after all I don’t want to scare anyone to death)!

5. And since I write both, I have to know which you prefer… Vampires or Cowboys Hey…”Immortal Relations” all about good vampires defending humans from evil! I guess you could say they are the Cowboys and Cowgirls of the Supernatural Set, but Vampires none-the-less!

 

Categories: Lassoing the Words of Romance | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Blog at WordPress.com.

