Daily Archives: June 3, 2014

Interview with Loreen Augeri author of LOST HONOR

Thanks for having me here today, Sara.

Glad to have you, Loreen…. Let’s start with when did you start writing?

When my youngest daughter started school. I’d been reading historical romances and decided I wanted to write one. I began the first one and hoped I would finish. I did and went on to the next. Since I enjoyed creating characters and plots, I continued writing.

What genre/genres do you write?

Historical romance. I love to transport readers to another time and place when life was simpler and slower.  Since historical romances take place any time before World War II, I can set the characters in the fifteenth century for one book and the eighteenth century for the next. While researching, I enjoy learning about the customs, food, dress, and way of life of the people that came before us.

What advice would you give to new authors?

To never give up. I wrote for fifteen years before I was published. If you don’t continue to write and send your manuscripts to publishers, it will never happen.

What inspired you to write Lost Honor?

I have always enjoyed reading about pirates, so I began to write a book with the pirate as the hero. I took a workshop and discovered certain aspects of pirate life I thought to be true were actually myths. The truth didn’t fit into the plot I envisioned, so I made the hero the captain of a ship and the pirate a villain.

Is Lost Honor part of a series? If so, tell us about it.

When I originally wrote it, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to write another book about one of the characters. I’ve been thinking about it and decided I will. The main character in the next book will be the brother of the hero in Lost Honor. Since I am in the middle of a different project right now, it may take a while.

How long did it take you to write Lost Honor?

About one and a half years. I wrote it in six months, but the editing took about a year. It always takes me longer to edit.

 

Fun Questions:

What’s your favorite TV show or movie of all time?

My favorite TV show is NCIS. I love the interaction between the characters.

If you could chose a period in history to be born in, what would it be and why?

England during the era of knights and damsels in distress. I have always been fascinated by castles, sword fights, tournaments, and the muscular men who wore heavy armor and wielded huge swords.

What was the most embarrassing thing your husband/boyfriend/partner/friend ever did to you in public?

My husband and I went to visit my in-laws at night where the houses in the neighborhood look alike. As we walked up to the porch, I noticed a new planter and commented on it. I knocked on the door, and a dog started barking. My in-laws don’t own a dog. My husband took another look at the house and said, “We have the wrong house.” He took off, leaving me to explain our mistake. I felt foolish when the owner of the house opened the door with a confused look on his face.

What is the one place you have never visited but would love to?

England because many of the historical romances I read and write about are set in England. I would love to visit a castle.

If you were stranded on a desert island and could chose any famous person (living or dead), who would you chose to be stranded with you and why?

Benjamin Franklin because I think he is a fascinating man. I’d love to ask him questions about his ideas, inventions, and politics. He seemed to always have something percolating in his head.

 

Quick Quiz:

Cake or Chips—Chips

Steak or Veggie Burger—Steak

Chocolates or Roses—Roses

Boxers or Briefs or Nothing at all—Briefs

And since I write both, I have to know which you prefer… Vampires or Cowboys—Cowboys

~*~

 

Lost Honor by Loreen Augeri

Lost Honor

By

Loreen Augeri

 

Blurb:

Captain Morgan Danvers sets sail to rescue his brother, kidnapped by pirates. Fearing he will become like his father who abandoned him, he has cut himself off from his emotions. Then a willful stowaway crashes into his life, awakening dormant feelings and firing his lust. Soon he finds his all-important honor threatened, for even though he is betrothed to another, he is drawn to her against his will.

Arianna Pemberton hides in a barrel she thinks will be loaded on her brother’s ship but lands on Morgan’s brig. Her father has forbidden her to sail, and this is her only course of action. Unwilling to allow a man to control her, she is determined to make her way as a seaman, a profession she knows and loves. But when Captain Danvers discovers her deception, he refuses to permit her to prove herself. As she struggles to convince him, unwanted passion emerges, jeopardizing her plans for independence.

 

Excerpt:

Shoved by powerful hands, she fell to her kneesbefore booted feet.

“Found her in the hold, Cap’n. Thought she was a boy at first, her wearin’ pants and acap, but she has tits.”

“I can see that, Jurgens.”

Arianna followed the shiny boots up to tight-fitting, brown breeches hugging muscular thighs, and slim hips. A loose, white shirt covering broad shoulders next met her gaze, then a corded neck, square jaw, stern lips, crooked nose, and cold, dark eyes that stared down at her. “Where’s my brother? Who are you?”

“I will be asking the questions. Who are you, and why are you on my ship?” The deep voice thundered through the cabin.

Her stomach flip-flopped. Dizziness swamped her. Swallowing convulsively, she battled to contain the contents of her queasy stomach. Hiding in that empty molasses barrel hadn’t been the brightest idea of her twenty-one years. “I’m not talking to anyone but my brother.”

Jurgens’s forceful hands yanked her to a standing position. “You answer the cap’n.”

The abrupt movement snapped the fragile control she clung to. Spasms seized her throat. Arianna struggled to turn away, but the fingers digging into her arms held her in place. The contents of her stomach erupted.

All over Captain Danvers’s boots.

Her captor released her and jumped back in horror.

 

Buy Links:

Amazon e-book  |  Amazon paperback  |  The Wild Rose Press e-book  |  The Wild Rose Press paperback  |  Barnes and Noble e-book

 

Meet Loreen…

Loreen Augeri has always liked to read and write. As a young child, she created stories featuring a young girl and her loyal horse. Riding was her favorite pastime.

She started reading historical romances when her children were babies. When her youngest daughter started school, she decided she wanted to write a novel. At first, to see if she could, later as a hobby, and then seeking publication. Becoming a member of the Romance Writers of America and her local chapter helped in the process.

Loreen lives in Massachusetts with her husband of 32 years and her two adult daughters. When she is not reading or writing, she enjoys walking, dancing, and spending time at the beach.

Learn more at Loreen’s Website 

 

 

Categories: Lassoing the Words of Romance | Tags: , , , , | 13 Comments

Blog at WordPress.com.

