Book Spotlight with Excerpt—ON THE ROCKS by Erin Duffy

On the Rocks by Erin Duffy

 

On the Rocks

By

Erin Duffy

Blurb:

A heartwarming novel about friendship, family, and finding love in the Facebook Age-the perils, pitfalls, and dubious pleasures of being a modern young single woman-from Erin Duffy, the author of Bond Girl

Six months ago, Abby’s life fell apart for all the world to see. Her longtime boyfriend-turned-fiancé, Ben, unceremoniously dumped her-on Facebook-while she was trying on dresses for the big day.

When the usual remedies-pints of Ben & Jerry’s, sweatpants, and a comfy couch-fail to work their magic, her best friend, Grace, devises a plan to get Abby back on her game. She and Abby are going to spend the summer in Newport, in a quaint cottage by the sea, enjoying cool breezes, cocktails, and a crowd of gorgeous men.

But no matter how far away they go, Abby and Grace discover that in the era of social media-when everyone is preserving every little detail of their lives online-there is no real escape. Dating has never been easy. But now that the rules are more blurred than ever, how will they find true love? And even if they do, can romance stand a chance when a girl’s every word and move can go viral with a single click?

 

Excerpt:

I felt like the upheaval of my personal life overflowed into every other area of my life and made me question everything I thought I wanted. I didn’t even know if I wanted to be a teacher anymore, and that was something that I had wanted since I was old enough to play school with my friends in my basement. Don’t get me wrong, I love my job. I take great pride in knowing that I’m helping to mold a future generation of leaders at a prestigious Catholic nursery school in the Back Bay. But after ten years and the reality check that this last year had provided, I was starting to wonder if I made any impact on the kids whatsoever. I mean, it wasn’t like I was teaching chemistry or economics or calculus. I was teaching kids not to eat glue. Most of them would be able to figure that out on their own, eventually. The last week of February I caught a girl stuffing extra Oreos into her kneesocks at snack time. So much for molding future generations of America’s leaders. Apparently, the only thing I was molding was a future generation of petty thieves with eating disorders.

And that wasn’t even the worst of it.

To add insult to oh-such-severe injury, my little sister Katie’s wedding was fast approaching. There really ought to be some kind of written rule that says little sisters are not allowed to get engaged while their big sisters are dealing with the utterly fantastic destruction of their own relationship. Now, I’m not one of those people who have an issue with a younger sister getting married before them, I swear, I’m not. I do, however, have a really big issue with wearing a pink taffeta dress and opera-length gloves in July, or anytime, really. There should be written rules against that too, but I don’t think Emily Post ever got around to tackling this specific wedding dilemma in any of her books. So all has not been quiet on the home front either, and fighting wars on two fronts is never a good idea.

Just ask Napoleon.

Grace snapped her fingers in my face, forcing my wandering mind to focus on the conversation instead of on the image of myself walking down a church aisle looking like a giant stick of cotton candy. “If you won’t do it for yourself, then do it for me. I have to get out of the city on the weekends or I’ll go crazy. Please come with me. We both need to get away, and you know it.”

“Sorry, what?” I asked as I shook my head, hard, as if thrashing my skull would get the image of myself in that dress out of my head like it can get water out of your ear. For the record, it didn’t. All it did was make me look like I had a serious mental problem.

 

Buy Links:

Amazon   |   Barnes and Noble  |   Books A Million

 

Banner

To Follow Tour

 

Meet Erin….Erin Duffy

Erin Duffy graduated from Georgetown University in 2000 with a B.A. in English and worked as a trader on Wall Street, a career that inspired her first book, Bond Girl. She lives in New York City.

 

Author Links:

Facebook  |   Goodreads  |  Author Page at HarperCollins 

 

A Rafflecopter Giveaway (FIVE Print Copies of ON THE ROCKS by Erin Duffy)

 

Categories: Tasty Read Book Tours | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Book Spotlight with Excerpt—ON THE ROCKS by Erin Duffy

  1. Tasty Book Tours

    Thank you for hosting today

Don't forget to feed the horses.... They like comments!

Blog at WordPress.com.

