Interview—Meet Tera Shanley author of AN UNWILLING HUSBAND

Welcome to the blog my Kensington-Lyrical sister Tera Shanley… Why don’t you start off wiht telling us a little about yourself?

My name is Tera Shanley and I’m from Dallas, Texas. My childhood was spent out of doors and it is still where my soul recharges best. I love living a small town life and these days, if I’m not reading a book, I’m writing.

What genre/genres do you write?

I tend to bounce around between three: Historic Western Romance, Dystopian Romance, and Paranormal Romance. Sometimes I combine them when I’m feeling like a saucy minx. My agent currently has a trilogy about Werewolves in the Wild West.

If you are a pantser, how do you handle when you write into a corner?

Gah, I am totally a panster and have written myself into a corner many times. Sometimes it changes the entire course of a story, depending on what my characters tell me they want to do. My go to fix is to give it a few days. I’ll stop writing and clear my noggin. Usually the solution slaps me in the face in the middle of the night. My characters seem to be nocturnal, the little monsters.

Whatever became of your very first book?

It is coming out in August through Lyrical Press. I sat on it for a while, reworked it and reworked it until my editor read it and thought it would work great as a Paranormal Romance series of novellas. So we reworked it again, resubmitted and now the first of the series, Silver Wolf Clan, will be out this year. It’s come a long way and I can’t wait to finally share it!

Do you have any other books? What do you have planned next?

I do. I also write Dystopian, and my zombie romance, Love in the Time of the Dead, hit a sweet chord with readers. Omnific publishing recently picked up the second book in the Dead Rapture series, Love at the End of Days. Up next is writing the final installment in the trilogy.

What can you tell us about An Unwilling Husband that isn’t in the blurb or excerpt?

It’s a story about loyalty, and redemption, and giving everything of one’s self in order to allow another to heal and learn to love. Through the story, the characters share memories from their childhood together, both good and not-so-good, and their connection deepens with every obstacle Maggie faces to be with Garret. It’s a story about when to let go and when to dig your heels in to get the life and love you want.

Is An Unwilling Husband part of a series? If so, tell us about it.

It is a stand-alone book, though Maggie and Garret are mentioned in The Dawson Brides trilogy as a neat little nod to readers of my Historic Western Romances. We’ll see if anyone picks up on the reference when it comes out.

Who was easier to write–Hero or Heroine? Why?

Maggie was definitely easier to write. With Garret, he’s been through a lot, and spending time in his head is harder to do, his motivations come from unexpected places and his experiences make him a wild card sometimes. I always felt like I understood him better after I wrote him, and had this sense of relief when I finished his scenes, but when I was in it, he was easily the hardest to write in this book.

Why are your hero and heroine perfect for each other?

Garret needs a strong woman. And if she isn’t the right woman, he’ll never heal, never improve, never live up to his potential. He needs a woman who is patient (or stubborn?) enough to push him to be better and tell him when he’s messing everything up. And Maggie’s been in love with our reluctant hero since she was a child and has fought tooth and nail to get back to him after years apart. If she can just stick around through him pushing her away, he’ll give her a life she couldn’t even dream of.

Plus loads of good old fashioned chemistry. They have that.

Okay now for some fun questions…

What’s your favorite TV show or movie of all time?

Favorite movie of all time has to be Empire Records. (close runners up: Jeremiah Johnson, Quigley Down Under, Pitch Perfect, Love Actually, Avatar — TV Show: Sons of Anarchy, Hell on Wheels, Castle, Supernatural, and The Walking Dead – I can’t chooooose!)

If you could chose a period in history to be born in, what would it be and why?

I have always been enamored with the turn of the century Wild West. Because cowboys.

What was the most embarrassing thing your husband/boyfriend/partner/friend ever did to you in public?

I’m a car singer and so is my husband. Well, in college we started playing this game, Who Can Sing the Worst, and we’d screech out songs off tune and crack up in between notes. So one day, at the college we were both attending, we were stopped at a red light, playing the game and I was singing a Pearl Jam song in the voice of Scuttle from The Little Mermaid. My husband stopped singing and was just looking at me with this dumb smile and that’s when I noticed he’d rolled down the windows at some point and a ton of people were standing on the sidewalk right next to the car, waiting to cross and staring at me like I’d lost my mind.

What is the one place you have never visited but would love to?

Alaska! I watch any show and documentary I can about it. Someday, Alaska, I’ll visit you and wear your souvenir t-shirts.

If you were stranded on a desert island and could chose any famous person (living or dead), who would you chose to be stranded with you and why?

Bear Grylls. I’m gonna survive that island!

Quick Quiz:

Cake or Chips:

Chips

Steak or Veggie Burger:

Steak

Chocolates or Roses

Roses

Boxers or Briefs or Nothing at all

Briefs

And since I write both, I have to know which you prefer… Vampires or Cowboys

Cowboys!

~*~

 

An Unwilling Husband by Tera Shanley

 

An Unwilling Husband

By

Tera Shanley

 

Blurb:

For adventurous Margaret Flemming, arrived from Boston to be with her father, the Old West town of her childhood is a far cry from the drawing rooms and balls of the high society life she’s used to. Her fancy gowns and proper manners have no place in the dusty, cruel land inhabited by Indians and rough cowboys. And her fiercely independent streak constantly gets her in trouble. When tragedy strikes, there’s only one person she can turn to–her childhood friend, Garret Shaw–but he’s disgusted with her Society ways.

With his ranch under attack from the land-grabbing Jennings, the last thing Garret needs is to be saddled with a high-falutin’ lady. Even if she is his friend’s daughter and her kind ways tug at his hardened heart. Duty to her father forces them to wed, but he knows sure as anything, when the chance comes along, she’ll go back to Boston. No matter how much he wants her, loving her is not a risk he can take.

Will Maggie choose a life of luxury and ease over struggle and hardship with an ill-mannered cowboy? Only her heart can answer.

 

Meet Tera…Tera Shanley

Tera Shanley writes in sub-genres that stretch from Paranormal Romance, to Historic Western Romance, to Apocalyptic (zombie) Romance. The common theme? She loves love! A self-proclaimed bookworm, she was raised in small town Texas and could often be found decorating a table at the local library. She currently lives in Dallas with her husband and two young children and when she isn’t busy running around after her family, she’s writing a new story or devouring a good book. Any spare time is dedicated to chocolate licking, rifle slinging, friend hugging, and the great outdoors. For more information about Tera and her work, visit http://www.terashanley.com.

 

Author Links:

Facebook  |  Blog  |   Twitter  |   Website  |   Goodreads  

 

Buy Links:

Amazon  |   Kobo  |   iTunes  |  Barnes & Noble  

Genre: Historic Western Romance

Publisher: Kensington Publishing Corporation/Imprint: Lyrical Press

Length: 310 pages

Categories: Lassoing the Words of Romance | Tags: , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Interview—Meet Tera Shanley author of AN UNWILLING HUSBAND

  1. I enjoyed this interview almost as much as I enjoyed the books. I’d never thought about taking Bear Grylls with me if I was stranded somewhere. Good choice. It’s a wonder you married your husband after he pulled that stunt. I bet you laugh at it now.

    • terashanley

      Gemma, I was laughing the day after, but when it happened I blushed!! I never blush! It was mortifying, but it set me up well for how our future years would be. he’s a prankster, through and through. Keeps me on my toes and makes life interesting though, haha.

  2. I enjoyed this interview. I love the humor and reading about the prankster husband. I’ve got one of those too.
    I’m glad to be the newest follower to this blog, and I’m looking forward tor reading more from your garden of romance.
    Best,
    Deb@ http://debioneille.blogspot.com

    • terashanley

      Hi Debi! I’m so glad to know I’m not the only one with a naughty prankster husband, haha 😀 Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

Don't forget to feed the horses.... They like comments!

Blog at WordPress.com.

