Guest Post: “Saying Goodbye to a Series” by Lynn Cahoon author of THE BULL RIDER’S KEEPER

Saying Goodbye to a Series

 The Bull Rider’s Brother started my crazy journey as an author. One with real books to sell, digitally and in print. Four friends from a small mountain town in Idaho come together in an annual celebration in their hometown.  The couple most likely to marry finally find each other again.

My story sold a week after I returned from a visit home.  While I was gone, my husband got the letter from my targeted publisher turning down the book. I was heartbroken. After doing two sets of edits and waiting a year, the editor said no. As he read it to me over the phone, I said something about trying another publisher.

He said maybe I should work on the book more.

I didn’t kill him.  Instead, I ignored his advice and sent it off to a new imprint with an established publisher.  Crimson Romance asked for a full within the hour. Then a week later, I had my offer.

In four months, the book was part of Crimson Romance’s launch into the publishing world.  And I’ve never looked back.

The Bull Rider’s Manager was the second book in the series and released in November 2012. The story focused on the best friend from book one and her struggles trying to make it as a rodeo manager as well deal with her aging mother.  I loved the way Barb felt like she had it all under control, even when she didn’t.

Now, after a long hiatus from writing about the four friends, the last of the four, Jesse, the bull rider, has his own happy ever after.  The Bull Rider’s Keeper released on April 28th 2014 – almost two years after the first book.  I was torn writing the final scene. One set on the banks of a river I know too well.  The four had become more and I’ll miss these characters.

Of course, there could be a few more happy ever after stories coming out of Shawnee.  I know just where to start…

What series have you loved and didn’t want to end?


The Bull Riders Keeper by Lynn Cahoon

The Bull Rider’s Keeper


Lynn Cahoon


Jesse Sullivan isn’t afraid of any thing, any man, or any bull. But when he decides to take a chance and carve out a life outside his rodeo career, he’s feeling like he’s walking on shaky ground. In typical Jesse style, he jumps at a chance to purchase Main Street Gallery, a Boise tradition in the art world.

Taylor DeMarco has two goals for the next year. Getting the gallery on sound financial ground to prove to her parents that she can keep her grandfather’s legacy alive is the first one. Moving out of the house and into her own condo by the Boise river, is the second. When she finds her folks are selling the gallery to Jesse, she vows to stop the sale, no hands barred.

When sparks fly between Jesse and Taylor, family gets in the way of reason, and they have to decide what is more important, their desires or keeping Main Street Gallery open and successful.

Buy Links:

Amazon  |  Barnes and Noble 

Meet Lynn…Cahoon

Lynn Cahoon’s a multi-published author. An Idaho native, her stories focus around the depth and experience of small town life and love. Lynn’s published in Chicken Soup anthologies, explored controversial stories for the confessional magazines, short stories in Women’s World, and contemporary romantic fiction. Currently, she’s living in a small historic town on the banks of the Mississippi river where her imagination tends to wander. She lives with her husband and four fur babies.

Author Links:

 Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads  |  

Amazon Author Page   

Categories: Lassoing the Words of Romance | Tags: , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Guest Post: “Saying Goodbye to a Series” by Lynn Cahoon author of THE BULL RIDER’S KEEPER

  1. Reblogged this on Lynn Cahoon and commented:
    I’m talking about saying goodbye to The Bull Rider series today.

  2. Thanks for having me over Sara!

  3. jdh2690

    Thanks for the question, Lynn. The closest I could come to a series is the Cynster family of stories by Stephanie Laurens, the Anita Blake vampire series by Laurell K. Hamilton, and the Death series by J.D. Robb. I loved all three series very, very much and have kept looking to see if any new ones have come out. From time to time a new one does get published and I snatch it up. But still, each book in each series was also a stand-alone…and didn’t necessarily depend on the story previous to it to make sense to the reader. Thanks for the post.

Don't forget to feed the horses.... They like comments!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: