Guest Post–“Greatest Personal Accomplishment” by Jennifer Ryan author of FALLING FOR OWEN

 If you are looking for the Spring Fling Blog Hop Click HERE

 

 

Falling for Owen Banner

 

Greatest Personal Accomplishment

 

Everyone has a dream. Mine was to be a full-time writer. To accomplish that, I knew there would be milestones along the way I’d have to achieve. For most writers, that means getting an agent, selling a book, and then selling more books. It sounds so easy. You write a book you think is amazing, send your baby off to a number of agents and hope one of them likes your work so much, they offer to represent you.

That’s not exactly how it worked for me. Yes, I wrote the book, sent it off to countless agents, and got a ton of rejections. So I wrote more books. Sent them off and got a ton of rejections. I even submitted to publishing houses that accepted un-agented submissions. Lucky me, an editor took an interest in my book. She even gave me a bunch of notes, which I incorporated into my book and re-submitted to her. In the end, the book wasn’t a good fit, because the house was working on contemporary novels, not romantic-suspense at the time, but she loved it so much she contacted an agent for me and told him he needed to sign me. Blown away she’d do this for me, I submitted my work to him, and he offered to represent me. He sent my book on submission and I got more rejections.

About this time, I went to the RWA conference and soaked up every bit of information I could at the publisher’s spotlights. I loved the Avon presentation, the enthusiasm all the editors had for their job and books. They had the right vibe that worked for me, and I wanted to be one of their authors. One of the editors said they never received romantic suspense and she’d love to see some. I contacted my agent and asked him to send it to her. Three weeks later, she bought the book that had received countless rejections, went through edits with that other editor at another house, who ultimately rejected it too, and now it was going to be published at a major house.

Major accomplishment, right? Well, it got even better. That editor bought three more books and from February to October of 2013 The Hunted Series was released – all four books. I could not have been more thrilled to see the sales grow and fans embrace each and every book.

I’d done it. I was a working full-time writer with four books out and more contracts signed with my publishing house. I got the agent, sold the books, and had the career I always wanted. I should have dreamed a bit bigger, because my greatest accomplishments came in October when Chasing Morgan – Book 4: The Hunted series came out. Saved by the Rancher, Lucky Like Us, and Chasing Morgan all hit the USA Today list for a couple of weeks. Such a wonderful moment and more than I ever expected.

And then it happened. That thing you never expect. The thing that seems like a dream you’ll never achieve, but oh, wouldn’t it be nice. Saved by the Rancher hit the NY Times bestseller list two weeks in a row. No words can explain the excitement, or how unreal it felt to get that news from my amazing editor. But there it was, my greatest accomplishment. I was a full-time writer with multiple books out, contracts yet to be fulfilled, and a book on the NY Times bestseller list. Amazing!

 ~*~

Falling for Owen by Jennifer Ryan

 

Falling for Owen

The McBrides Book Two

By

Jennifer Ryan

Blurb:

The McBrides of Fallbrook return with reformed bad boy Owen. He’ll do whatever he must to protect the woman who’s captured his heart. Attorney by day, rancher by night Owen McBride conquered his dark past and made it his mission to help the innocent—even at the expense of a personal life. But when a client’s abusive ex-husband targets Owen and his gorgeous neighbor Claire gets caught in the crossfire, his feelings turn anything but professional. The mysterious beauty awakens something in him, and he’ll move heaven and earth to keep her safe.

Coffee shop owner Claire Walsh learned the hard way that handsome men aren’t to be trusted. Owen may be sexy as hell and determined to take care of her, but she’s reluctant to put her heart on the line. His presence in her life puts a target on her back, yet the more time she spends with him, the more she finds she can’t help falling for Owen.

Buy Links:

Amazon  |  Barnes and Noble  |  iTunes

 

To Follow Tour

 

Meet Jennifer…Jennifer Ryan

JENNIFER RYAN, author of The Hunted Series, writes romantic suspense and contemporary small-town romances.

Jennifer lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her husband and three children. When she isn’t writing a book, she’s reading one. Her obsession with both is often revealed in the state of her home, and how late dinner is to the table. When she finally leaves those fictional worlds, you’ll find her in the garden, playing in the dirt and daydreaming about people who live only in her head, until she puts them on paper.

Please visit her website at www.jennifer-ryan.com for information about upcoming releases.
Find her here:

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads   

 

 A Rafflecopter Giveaway (Two Digital Copies of THE RETURN OF BRODY MCBRIDE)

 

 

Categories: Tasty Read Book Tours | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Guest Post–“Greatest Personal Accomplishment” by Jennifer Ryan author of FALLING FOR OWEN

  1. Tasty Book Tours

    Thank you for hosting today!

  2. Ada

    Love Jennifer Ryan’s books! Thanks for the amazing giveaway 😀

    • Ada

      Oh and my favorite series with brothers would probably be…..Jill Shalvis’ Wilder series or Lori Foster’s Buckhorn Brothers.

Don't forget to feed the horses.... They like comments!

Blog at WordPress.com.

