Interview with Maria K. Alexander author of Untangle My Heart

If you are looking for the Spring Fling Blog Hop Click HERE

perf5.000x8.000.indd

Untangle My Heart

by

Maria K. Alexander

Today I welcome Maria K. Alexander to the blog with a fun interview:

1.  Tell us a little about yourself. Hi, Sara. Thanks for having me on your blog today. By day I’m a project manager in the Information Technology industry. Pretty boring, right? But it’s taught me a lot about structure and setting goals. With a husband and two active children, it’s hard to find the time to write, but I do. You’ll find me up before the sun and working much later than I should. But I love writing and its worth only getting five hours of sleep each night.

2.  What advice would you give to new authors? Don’t give up. Take all the negative feedback and turn it into a positive lesson learned. Rejection is a rite (or write) of passage. We all go through it and while it’s easy to let it get you down, you can either let it or move on. Develop a plan and list of steps to get you to your goal of being published. Small steps count! Finish the novel. Submit it to agents and editors. Work on the next novel. The more you write, the stronger your writing will be. Network. Surround yourself with writers who can give you advice. Find a critique partner. A turning point in my writing career was when I started blogging with three fabulous women (my Violet Femme sisters). Now, there are eight of us.

3.  Do you have any other books? What do you have planned next? Untangle My Heart is the first book in my Tangled Heart series. I loved writing the DiFrancesco family and enjoyed continuing their family saga. I’ve completed the next book, which focuses on the Vicky, the sister of the heroine from Untangle My Heart. Next will be Nick’s story (oldest DiFrancesco son). I’ve been looking forward to writing Nick’s story and planted seeds of back story in both Kate and Vicky’s stories.

4. What can you tell us about UNTANGLE MY HEART that isn’t in the blurb or excerpt?  It’s a second chance at love story. Kate and Edward met prior to the start of the book. What started out as a one-night stand turned to a three-week fling when he was visiting from London. Untangle My Heart starts months after their affair ended, when Edward moves to New York City.

5.  Who was easier to write–Hero or Heroine? Why? Kate was easier to write. I could relate to the closeness and traditions of her family, similar to my own. I also found it freeing to write a character who spoke her mind.

6.  Why are your hero and heroine perfect for each other? Kate and Edward are from very different backgrounds. She’s from a boisterous Italian family, full of love and affection. Edward’s from a stuffy British family where he was taught to stifle his emotions. Despite their differences, I think they balance each other out. Edward is very logical and softens Kate’s fiery personality. Kate gives Edward something he’s never had before, a sense of family. They each fill a void the other didn’t realize they had or cared to fill.

For Fun Questions 

1.  What’s your favorite TV show or movie of all time? Ella Enchanted. I like it because it makes me laugh, is a fairy tale, and has the dashing Hugh Dancy as the hero!

2.  If you could chose a period in history to be born in, what would it be and why? I think the 1950’s would have been fun. The music was great and I love the dancing.

3.  What was the most embarrassing thing your husband/boyfriend/partner/friend ever did to you in public? I’m sure there are some things, but I honestly can’t think of anything.

4.  What is the one place you have never visited but would love to? Hawaii

5.  If you were stranded on a desert island and could chose any famous person (living or dead), who would you chose to be stranded with you and why? Colin O’Donoghue. He plays Captain Hook on Once Upon A Time, has a sexy accent, and if he’s anything like the character he plays, would be resourceful on a desert island. And he’d have to lose the leather because who wears leather on an island, right?

Quick Quiz 

1.  Cake or Chips – Cake

2.  Steak or Veggie Burger – Steak

3.  Chocolates or Roses – Chocolates

4.  Boxers or Briefs or Nothing at all – Boxer Briefs

5.  And since I write both, I have to know which you prefer… Vampires or Cowboys. Cowboys

 

Blurb:

When her marriage ended in tragedy, Kate DiFrancesco rebuilt her life, but has never gotten over the pain of what she lost. Seeking the help of an ex-lover ignites feelings she’s promised never to have again. She’ll need to untangle herself from dangers in her past in order to break the hard shell around her heart.

Edward Weston has a lot to prove, both to his stuffy upper-crust British family, and to himself. Working alongside Kate, a woman he had a casual relationship with, stirs unexpected feelings. Helping her family makes him realize what he’s missing. For the first time, he wants more than a one-night stand.

When Kate is threatened, Edward must overcome feeling unworthy to protect the woman he loves and fight for the family he never thought he’d have.

 

Excerpt:

“Privacy is a hard thing to find around here, so you may want to lock the door. Especially when you’re wearing only a towel and my sister is on the prowl.”

“I’ll have to remember that,” Edward said, taking a step toward her. “I knew she was smitten, but didn’t think she would be waiting in the room after my shower. I was struggling with a tactful way of getting her out.”

“I’m sure you’re not accustomed to asking a woman to leave your room.”

He gave her an unapologetic grin. “No, usually not.”

“I guess it’s partly my fault. I told her I don’t have any claims to you. Apparently she took that to mean it was open season to pursue you.”

“Yet you stopped by. Why?”

“I wanted to thank you again for your help today. You dropped everything to come and help my family and that means a lot to me.”

He took another step toward her until he stood directly in front of her. “You mean a lot to me. I’d do anything I could to help you.”

She nodded in acknowledgement, not sure she could trust her voice to speak with him all but touching her.

“And you’re wrong about not having a claim on me.”

His hands found their way to her waist. Her heart thumped and she knew she should pull back, wanted to pull back. But his blue-gray eyes held her in a hypnotic state and she couldn’t move.

 

Meet Maria…Headshot - Maria K. Alexander

A romantic at heart, Maria K. Alexander spent hours as a young girl getting lost in and wishing to be one of the heroines in the
stories she read. Books gave her the ability to go to another world where she loved meeting new characters, learning about their problems, and watching them fall in love.

Maria blogs about her writing journey with The Violet Femmes at http://thevioletfemmes.com. When not writing, Maria loves to read, bake, downhill ski, visit the beach, and watch romantic comedies. Maria lives in New Jersey with her husband and children, and writes in her “spare” time between juggling a full-time job and her kids’ busy schedules.

You can keep in touch with Maria at:

Website: http://mariakalexander.com

The Violet Femmes Blog: http://thevioletfemmes.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MKAlexander1

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Maria-K-Alexander-Author/201236689917319

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/mariakalexander

 

You can buy Untangle My Heart at:

Amazon: http://amzn.com/B00GVKRLOG

The Wild Rose Press: http://bit.ly/1js76H0

Barnes & Noble:  http://bit.ly/1or9aAY

Kobo: http://bit.ly/1cU0Ub8

iBooks: http://bit.ly/1gMBszO

All Romance: http://bit.ly/1eAH0QN

Giveaway:

To celebrate Untangle My Heart’s world-wide release, Maria is having a Rafflecopter contest to win a $25 Amazon or B&N gift card. You can enter at the URL below or at http://mariakalexander.com.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Interview with Maria K. Alexander author of Untangle My Heart

  1. Hi Sara. Thanks for hosting me today. I have a big time crush on British actors as you can tell from my interview. For those stopping by today, I’d love to hear who are your British celebrity crushes. Thanks!

  2. Great interview ladies! I loved the questions and the answers!

  3. Hi Maria! I can’t wait to read about Vicki in the second book in the series. Also, I like the British accent too!

  4. Love your desert island choice, Maria! I loved Untangle My Heart and I’m looking forward to Vicky’s story.

Don't forget to feed the horses.... They like comments!

Blog at WordPress.com.

