Guest Post–“Writing Sports Romances” by Erin Lindsey Maurer author of LINE DRIVE

Banner

.

Writing Sports Romances

Writing has been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. I don’t go anywhere without out a notebook (for jotting down ideas) and my Kindle. Getting lost in a romance is as much a part of my daily life as cooking dinner. Reading romance, getting lost in someone’s love story has always been my greatest love.

When I knew I wanted to make writing part of my career, there was no question I wanted to write love stories. I truly believe that love makes the world go round, so why not bring more of that to life? What was more difficult was choosing to be a sports romance writer.

It sounds cliche, or maybe a bit crazy, but Mattie came to me in a dream. He was this complex man, strong, passionate and tortured by his past. It was clear to me that he was torn between his duty to his family’s bakery and his love of the game.

That coupled with the fact that some of my favorite book series are sports-centric romances, entering the world of sport’s romance only seemed natural. I’ve been a sports fanatic since childhood. My dad helped me cut my teeth on baseball, spending hours explaining the game to me. When it became clear that I had no aptitude for the sport, becoming the world’s biggest fan was my next goal.

My love of baseball has bled over into other sports as well, namely hockey, though I won’t turn down a good football game, a NASCAR race or a college basketball game. Choosing to make Mattie a MINOR league player was also important to me.

Sports stars always seem bigger than life, unattainable, outside the realm of what I know, despite the fact that I’ve spent the better part of my 31-years cheering them on. I become absolutely rabid over the Philadelphia Phillies and the Philadelphia Flyers. But, it didn’t make sense for Mattie to play for the Phils (or its fictional equivalent).

Before I moved back to Philly, my ballpark world was limited to the Winston-Salem Warthogs. I’m not even sure if this minor league team still exists, but its where I nurtured my love of pro-ball. The atmosphere in the minors feels so different. The guys on the field feel like regular Joes. Though some of them will go on to be major league superstars, many of them have other careers. They play simply because they love baseball.

Mattie belonged in that world, there was never any question about it. He’s not a flashy dude with a multi-million dollar contract and tons of endorsements. He is a simple boy from South Philly, who happens to have some talent with a glove.

 ~*~

.

Cover

Line Drive

A Philadelphia Liberty Romance

By

Erin Lindsey Maurer

Blurb:

Mattie Duvall is just starting to rediscover his dreams. Signing with the minor league Philadelphia Liberty gives him a second shot at playing professional baseball. What he didn’t expect was to fall for the cider-haired pixie haunting his dreams. Ashlynn Davis isn’t looking for love. She’s busy chasing down her own big dream: finding a way to use her cooking skills to give back to Philadelphia’s less fortunate. The two cannot deny their mutual attraction, or that they’re heading rapidly towards that four letter word they thought they’d never say: LOVE. When secrets from Mattie’s past bubble to the surface, Ashlynn begins to question her position in his life. Can the two put the past behind them in time to race toward a future together? Or is love destined to play second fiddle to big dreams and even bigger secrets?

~*~

To Follow Tour

Buy Links:

Amazon  |  Smashwords

~*~

Meet Erin…Erin Lindsey Maurer

Erin Lindsey Maurer grew up surrounded by stories. She made up stories about well everything and often got caught readingunder her covers with a flashlight. Today, she is still cooking up tales, with a spicier spin. Line Drive is the first title in her Philadelphia Liberty series, celebrating the boys of baseball and the women they love.

Author Links:

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter

.

~*~

Rafflecopter Giveaway (FIVE Digital Copies of LINE DRIVE)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Categories: Tasty Read Book Tours | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Guest Post–“Writing Sports Romances” by Erin Lindsey Maurer author of LINE DRIVE

  1. Tasty Book Tours

    Thank you for hosting today!

Don't forget to feed the horses.... They like comments!

Blog at WordPress.com.

