Review and Excerpt for Cooper’s Redemption by D’Ann Lindun

I welcome my good friend and fellow author D’Ann Lindun as she shares an excerpt from one of my favorite contemporary western romances, Cooper’s Redemption. And I surprise her with a review!

When I read this book, I couldn’t put it down! Cooper is truly perfect cowboy. He’s loves the land and his animals. Elizabeth is sort of a fish out of water, coming to remote ranch county Colorado from LA to find her missing mother. I loved the chemistry between Cooper and Elizabeth and their story was not without challenges–and tons of suspense. This definitely is another winner and a fantastic must read by D’Ann. A perfect 5 stars!

 

contemporary western romance, romantic suspense, cowboy romance, Colorado romance, D'Ann Lindun

Welcome D’Ann…..

“Courage is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway.”

~John Wayne~

 

I love that quote. It’s so true. It completely applies to my heroine, Elizabeth Adams. She is a city girl, born and bred in L.A., but she has dreamed of a western hero her entire life. When her mother inherits a cattle ranch, and disappears when she goes to Colorado to sell it, Elizabeth comes to Colorado to search.

Excerpt:

He made another move toward his kitchen, and Elizabeth surprised him by saying, “Maybe I could tag along today?”

He spun around. “What are you talking about?”

“I don’t know. I was thinking you could show me the layout of the land. Maybe I could find a clue to my mom’s whereabouts.”

“No way.”

“Why not? I won’t be in the way.”

“You’re not cut out for the kind of work I’m facing.”  His tone was final. “Cowboying is a tough job. One for a man. I don’t have time to babysit a city girl.”

Elizabeth’s cheeks warmed. “I thought women here pitched in beside men. Like equals. Haven’t you ever seen any Barbara Stanwyck movies? I’ve ridden quite a bit. You wouldn’t need to babysit me.”

“Miss Adams,” Cooper interrupted, “don’t waste any of your woman’s lib lines on me. I’m aware that a woman can work every bit as hard as a man. But a city girl like yourself isn’t up to this job. Ranch life isn’t like you see in the movies. Not a day spent galloping through wildflowers. I’m talking about a long, hard day in a cold saddle.”

“I’ll be fine if you give me the chance. As I said, I’m a horsewoman, not unaccustomed to riding long hours. My mother might be out there somewhere. Please?” Her big eyes beseeched him.

“The only spare horse I have isn’t bombproof,” he said. “I need to ride the sorrel in case I have to rope one of the cows.”

“Then let’s go get my uncle Henry’s,” Elizabeth urged. “We could cut off some riding time by starting at my place, right? Besides, you wanted to look around last night. Did you get to see everything you wanted to?”

He didn’t want to give in. He clenched and unclenched his jaw. “Can you be ready in fifteen minutes? It’ll take me that long to ride over to your place. I’ll come across the back way.”

“I’ll be ready.”  She flew out the door.

Blurb: Elizabeth Adams has often dreamed of being a heroine in a western film, but her job as a florist in Los Angles is a far cry from cowgirl. Her mother travels to Colorado to sell her inherited ranch…and vanishes. When local law enforcement refuses to search, Elizabeth travels to Salt Lick to find her mother.

There is no proof JB Cooper murdered his neighbor, but the people of Salt Lick, Colorado, believe he killed the old man in a heated exchange over water rights. Lack of proof is the only thing keeping Cooper out of jail. When a woman goes missing and a homeless man is killed, he’s the first suspect.

Although everyone, including the local sheriff, advises Elizabeth not to trust Cooper, she instinctively knows he’s no killer. The cowboy reluctantly lets the city girl inside his tough outer layer. Can they find Elizabeth’s mother in time? Or will the dark eye of suspicion on Cooper tear them apart?

ON SALE FOR .99 UNTIL DECEMBER 22ND!!!

Buy:    Amazon    |    Barnes and Noble

Bio:

FalliD'Ann Lindun author of contemporary westrn romantic suspeneseng in love with romance novels the summer before sixth grade, D’Ann Lindun never thought about writing one until many years later when she took a how-to class at her local college. She was hooked! She began writing and never looked back. Romance appeals to her because there’s just something so satisfying about writing a book guaranteed to have a happy ending. D’Ann’s particular favorites usually feature cowboys and the women who love them. This is probably because she draws inspiration from the area where she lives, Western Colorado, her husband of twenty-nine years and their daughter. Composites of their small farm, herd of horses, five Australian shepherds, a Queensland heeler, two ducks and cats of every shape and color often show up in her stories!

I love to hear from readers! Please contact me at

dldauthor@frontier.net

http://dlindunauthor.blogspot.com/

http://www.facebook.com/DLindunAuthor

http://www.amazon.com/DAnn-Lindun/e/B008DKL9TU

 

 

 

Categories: Lassoing the Words of Romance | Tags: , , , , , | 18 Comments

Post navigation

18 thoughts on “Review and Excerpt for Cooper’s Redemption by D’Ann Lindun

  1. D'Ann

    Thank you so much, Sara!

  2. Fab review for a fab author!

  3. Wonderful review! Just bought my copy and can’t wait to read another fabulous book by one of my favorite authors!!

  4. Awesome review and excerpt. Another great book by D’Ann.
    Tweeted.

  5. Fantastic review and the book just sounds delightful. Nothing like a perfect cowboy for Christmas (except maybe a perfect medieval knight LOL) I’m looking forward to reading this, D’Ann. Tweeted/shared.

  6. That is a great quote, D’Ann, and so true. Fear doesn’t have to control us and it won’t if we keep pushing forward.

  7. I love D’Ann’s books. I haven’t read this book of hers yet! But I’ve loved all the rest of them!!

  8. Wonderful review, love your books.

  9. Hi, D–just driving by! Love those five stars–you earned them. 🙂

  10. Love, love, loved it. Tweeted.

  11. Thank you, everyone, for stopping by. D’Ann’s one of the most talented authors I know. Her books are always fantastic.

Don't forget to feed the horses.... They like comments!

Blog at WordPress.com.

