Authors in Bloom Blog Hop

blog hop, gardening, flowers

Welcome to the Authors in Bloom Blog Hop.

PLEASE LEAVE YOUR *EMAIL ADDRESS* TO BE ENTERED INTO MY DRAWING AND COMMENT TO BE ENTERED INTO THE GRAND PRIZE DRAWING

*Be advised that your email will be added to my mailing (newsletter) list, UNLESS you request otherwise. *

GRAND PRIZE: We are giving away a Kindle Fire or Nook (winner’s choice) along with a $25 gift card for the same.

MY PRIZE: Your choice of any TWO (2) of my four books (Please let me know which ones you would like. Click on cover to read blurbs/excerpts and reviews. Heartstrings is featured below).

paranormal romance, romantic suspense, vampires, demons, werewolves, Sara Walter Ellwood, Cera duBois  contemporary western, romantic suspesne, paranormal romance, vampires, werewolves, demons, Cera duBois, Sara Walter Ellwood  cowboy romance, contemporary western, romantic suspense, Texas romance  ccontemporary western romance, cowboy romance, Texas romance, Native American romance, country music singer romance

It’s no secret that I love to garden, and spring is my favorite season. The past month (March) has been tough here in Central Pennsylvania. We had a lot of snow.

Anyway, that’s past and the other day I bought some of my favorite annuals to plant in pots to set on my porch.

Pansy flower, authors in bloom blog hop, sara walter ellwood, cera dubois, gardeningPansies…

Or as they are known in the botany world–violas

There are hundreds, if not thousands, of species of violets and pansies. They come in almost every color and combinations of colors.

They are so easy to grow that even those professed of having a black thumb can grow these lovelies with little or no care, other than some water when the soil is dry to the touch. contemporary western romantic suspesne authror Sara Walter Ellwood

I love to grow these charmers, which were as popular in Victorian England as they are today in our modern world, in containers. But I also have the smaller perennial variety, often called by the botanical name of viola, in my garden.  Here’s a photo of them with my antique cabbage rose.

Pansies are so hardy that they can be planted in the fall where winters are mild and add color to the garden until the temperatures begin to rise into the 80s in the spring.

Here in the Mid Atlantic region they are often planted in late February to Mid March and can survive snow falls and freezing temps. Pansies will raise their beautiful faces to the sun until about late June. That’s when the temperatures climb to high for them. But that’s okay, by then the garden is being taken over by summer flowers.

Thgardening, violets, violas, pansies, ey aren’t as popular in the northern areas of the country, but they are perfect for those cooler summer temperatures.

But believe it or not, one of my very FAVORITE varieties doesn’t grow in the garden at all. I will always love picking wild violets in the fields along the streets of my neignborhood and putting them in a vase on the table….

~*~

Available from Lyrical Press

Lyrical PressAmazon   |  Barnes and NobleKobo  |  iTunes 

Heartstrings is on sale right now at Amazon!

Heartsrtings coverHe’s determined to set things right, no matter the cost.

The last person Abby Crawford wants to face down is country music superstar Seth Kendall. Last time she did, she flat-out lied so he’d go to Nashville without her. She’s never understood why their mutual best friend proposed, but she went with it so her baby wouldn’t be fatherless. Now she’s a divorced mother of a teenager, and secretly Seth’s biggest fan.

Seth is home in McAllister, Texas for his father’s funeral…and a chance to meet the daughter he’s never known. He’s willing to face the music of his own making and admit he’s known about his little girl all along. For fifteen years he’s kept his distance because Abby told him to follow his dreams without her, insisting she didn’t love him. But now he won’t leave until he knows his daughter and she knows him, even if it means facing the woman who broke his heart for good.

Confessing she’s lied about her daughter’s paternity all these years won’t be easy for Abby, especially with her ex blackmailing her to keep the secret. And Seth doesn’t know the hardest truth of all: Every love song he plays on his guitar still plucks her heartstrings.

CONTENT WARNING: Spicy sex.

Excerpt:

Seth leaned in. His lips were close enough to kiss, and his scent of sandalwood and something exotic enveloped her, taking her back to that night on the beach. His eyes flashed with the dangerous fire of his temper. It was similar to the flame of the passion she’d once seen in the green depths. Abby didn’t expect or want the heat curling in her belly, and shivered with a sudden and fierce desire.

“I’m her father, Abigail. I wanted to be her father after she was born. It was you and Mike who insisted I had no business messing things up.”

“I never said any such thing. You never tried. You just left.”

He pounded a fist on the counter top so hard she jumped. “Yes, I left! I wasn’t welcome at home. Dad ran me off with a shotgun. Mike wouldn’t even let me see my daughter. He made it quite clear you and he were happily married, and I had no place in your life. I was under contract to be in Nashville to start recording my first album.”

What did he mean, Mike wouldn’t let him see Emily?

Before she had a chance to voice her question, his eyes darkened as the pupils dilated, obscuring the stormy green. “But I’m no longer nineteen and scared shitless. I could make things very rough for you and this fantasy you’ve got working.”

A cold lump quickly replaced the tangle of heat in her belly. “What-what do you mean?”

He backed off and tapped the countertop. “I’m talking a custody battle. I could have a judge order a paternity test. I think we both know the media hoopla the results would cause.”

Her heart slammed into her chest wall. “You wouldn’t do that.”

“Try me. Now that I’ve met Emily, I want to get to know her.” He walked over to look out the kitchen window. The hard line of his jaw melted, and he swallowed so hard his throat moved up and down. “I was a fool when I let Mike talk me out of being in her life after she was born.”

“What do you mean?”

He glanced at her. “Don’t pretend you don’t know.”

The strings of guitar music provided a soft counterpoint to the hard tension in the kitchen. Emily was outside on the patio playing around with her guitar, waiting for them to finish with the dishes she and Seth had insisted on doing.

“All I want is to have some time with my daughter. That’s all I’m asking for.” When he looked over his shoulder at her, sadness replaced the anger in his eyes. “I’ll keep your little secret. I’ll just be her favorite singer. The family friend who made it big in Nashville. I don’t want to hurt her. As much as it galls the hell out of me, I see what Mike means to her.”

He moved toward her and shoved his hands into the pockets of his jeans. “Besides, I don’t want to hurt Carolann or Frank any more than you do.” He glanced outside again, his voice husky as he spoke. “But I’ll sue you if I have to.”

A part of her wanted to give in to him, but a larger part wanted to punish him. Let him take her to court; she’d make sure the world knew what kind of jerk Seth Kendall really was.

She gritted her teeth and fisted her hands by her sides. “I’ll let you have tonight, Seth. But don’t ask for more.”

She turned away and strode through the French doors.

~*~

Click here to follow along to the next blog on the hop!

Categories: Blog Hop, Out In The Garden | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 23 Comments

Post navigation

23 thoughts on “Authors in Bloom Blog Hop

  1. I love pansies but confess I am no green thumb. Plants should run from me. My next heroine IS a green thumb, however, so I might have to pick your brain. Great post!

  2. Anise Rae

    Having a black thumb, I’m all about pansies! Love when they self-seed and their babies sprout in unexpected places. But I must say, I’m green with envy for that rose in your picture! 😉

  3. I love flowers. I grow them in the flower garden but; not inside. LOL. Pansies are so pretty. If I won I would love to try “A Hunter’s Angel and A Hunter’s Blade.” Thanks for the giveaway.
    Sue B
    katsrus(at)gmail(dot)com

    • Meant to say I grow lots of flowers in the garden but; can’t grow them inside. They never make it. LOL.

  4. Sara,
    Great blog and excerpt!
    Pansies are one of my very favorite flowers. Along with tulips…
    Have a couple English cabbage roses, too. OK, there isn’t a flower I don’t like 🙂
    Best of luck on the tour.

  5. i so adore roses. my mum has passed but i have been able to keep her rose bushes alive and they still flower

    parisfan_ca@yahoo.com

  6. D'Ann Lindun

    One of my absolute fave flowers. I love to mix orange and black ones im with my bleeding hearts!

  7. bn100

    Nice flowers. a hunter’s angel; a hunter’s blade

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

  8. I’ve always loved the vivid purple hues of pansies. I try to always plant least a few containers of pansies on my front porch every summer.

    rechelleowens at gmai ldot com

  9. Sharma Darby

    I like pansies also. Sharma Darby rdarby@roadrunner.com

  10. Sharma Darby

    If I should be so lucky to win the 2 books, I’d like gambling on secrets and gambling on the heart. rdarby@roadrunner.com

  11. I would love to win the books from your hunters dagger series!!

    savannahm1987@gmail.com

  12. Pingback: Sneak Peek Sunday–Gambling On A Secret | Romance Writer Sara Walter Ellwood

  13. jeannie platt

    Your favorite flower grows in my backyard that is if hubby doesn’t mow them over…Weather has been crazy this year… If I win i would like gambling on secrets and gambling on the heart… My favorite flower is also purpleish i love Lilacs. Thank you for being part of the hop

    j.m.platt83@gmail.com

  14. JanD

    I don’t have a garden.
    Would like to win A Hunter’s Angel & Gambling On A Secret
    bituin76 at hotmail dot com

  15. This post makes me think that Pansies would be a good choice for my next try lol I’m known for a having a black thumb. I would love Gambling on a Secret and Heartstrings if I were to win, please 🙂 Thank you for your giveaway!
    oddball2003 at hotmail dot com

  16. Meghan Stith

    Spring is bloom and I love the flowers that come along with it. The warm weather, the happy people, the blossoming of roses and sunflowers. Sunflowers have to be my favorite flowers. They are so happy reaching towards the sky. Their petals are like eyelids opening wide to look upon the great blue sky above. My mother makes the best cheesy cauliflower soup that I adore in the springtime. It’s thick and creamy and I could easily eat gallons of it!
    Anyway, thanks for the giveaway!

    mestith at gmail dot com

  17. I love the plaid backdrop here. NICE. Thanks for taking part and I hope you’ll stop by my post, too! http://www.ninetteswann.com/2013/04/authors-in-bloom-blog-hop.html

    I would prefer not to get the newsletter because I don’t use my email like that, BUT I followed you on Twitter and Facebook instead so I can keep up! Thanks!

    ninette.swann at gmail.com

  18. I never knew pansies and violas were the same thing; thanks for the fun fact!

  19. Beautiful flowers! And your book sounds fantastic! Thanks for sharing and being apart of this fantastic hop! 🙂
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  20. jessiel62

    I loved the pics of the flowers! This book sounds like a great read. Thank you for the post.

    JessieL62 at comcast dot net

  21. Thank you all for stopping by!!!

    Congratulations SARAH! You are the winner!

  22. Pingback: Authors In Bloom – Win a Nook or Kindle!! – A Cozy Reader's Corner Reviews

Don't forget to feed the horses.... They like comments!

Blog at WordPress.com.

