Lucky in Love Blog Hop

contemporary, western, romance, romantic suspense, contemporary western romance, contemporary western, cowboy, cowboy romance, Texas romance, Native American romance, country music star romance, miltary romanceLucky in Love? Well, are you? It’s a time of luck and wealth…or not. With each romance we find ourselves in a new world of love and memories. Are these just by chance? Is it luck? Welcome to your second annual Lucky in Love Blog Hop where we want to hear about your love, your romance, and how much you love St. Patrick’s Day!!! Are you wearing green? Ready to get pinched…or wait…do you like that?

Almost 300 bloggers have giveaways and posts about those men we love!

But that’s not all….

We have TWO grand prizes. You as a reader can go to EACH blog and comment with your email address and be entered to win. Yep, you can enter over 200 times!

Now what are those prizes?

1st Grand Prize: A $100 Amazon or B&N Gift Card

2nd Grand Prize: A Swag Pack that contains paperbacks, ebooks, 50+ bookmarks, cover flats, magnets, pens, coffee cozies, and more!

I will also be giving an ARC copy of my upcoming release Heartstrings to one lucky poster!

~*~

Back in 1989 while attending a branch campus of Penn State University, I was set up on a blind date. On Valentine’s Day. By the boy I was madly crushing on.

No, it wasn’t with him.

It was with one of his friends. I knew most of the guys he sat with. The school was mostly attended by commuter students and we all hung out in the student union building between classes, drinking cheap watered down soda from the vending machine and filling up on greasy pizza. I loved this because I met so many people. I was an education major, the guys I befriended, quite by accident through a mutual education major, were all associate degree engineering majors. My crush said I knew the guy he thought was perfect for me. That I’d met him. He didn’t hang out with the rest of the engineering students because he lived in one of the two dorms on campus.

Nope, I had no idea who he was.

The plan was for my friend to bring this blind date out to my home town. The local hang out was a pizza place and was where almost everyone for the past 40 or so years have gone after the high school football games. My friend, although not from my home town, knew of the place and agreed to meet me there with his friend.

I almost stood them–him–up.

When I met the man who would become my husband four and half years later, I was a bit surprised. He was shy and quiet, and I’ll admit I talked mostly with our mutual friend. But the next day, he came to the student union building after his classes and we all had lunch together. And then we started to get to know each other… Well, sort of.

For the first month that I knew him, I thought his last name was Smith. I also thought he was a year older. Let me explain. Albert was a sophomore, I was a freshman. And his friends all called him Smith. I came to find out later, he’s only four days older than me. He started school when he was only four years old. The reason they called him Smith was because his last name is Ellwood–which is a common first name where I’m from. His wonderful friends thought he needed a last name…LOL

We dated for the rest of his sophomore year and for an extra semester. He graduated in December. I had two and half more years of college. Most of the rest of our relationship was built while apart. I still have the letters he’d sent me and he still has the ones I’d sent him. We ran up long phone bills and he came to see me whenever he got a chance to get off work. It wasn’t easy, but we endured.

We were married in August 1993. I won’t say it’s always been easy, but I still feel lucky to have found him.

~*~

Heartstringsccontemporary western romance, cowboy romance, Texas romance, Native American romance, country music singer romance

A contemporary Western Romance from Lyrical Press available April 1

He’s determined to set things right, no matter the cost.

The last person Abby Crawford wants to face down is country music superstar Seth Kendall. Last time she did, she flat-out lied so he’d go to Nashville without her. She’s never understood why their mutual best friend proposed, but she went with it so her baby wouldn’t be fatherless. Now she’s a divorced mother of a teenager, and secretly Seth’s biggest fan.

Seth is home in McAllister, Texas for his father’s funeral…and a chance to meet the daughter he’s never known. He’s willing to face the music of his own making and admit he’s known about his little girl all along. For fifteen years he’s kept his distance because Abby told him to follow his dreams without her, insisting she didn’t love him. But now he won’t leave until he knows his daughter and she knows him, even if it means facing the woman who broke his heart for good.

Confessing she’s lied about her daughter’s paternity all these years won’t be easy for Abby, especially with her ex blackmailing her to keep the secret. And Seth doesn’t know the hardest truth of all: Every love song he plays on his guitar still plucks her heartstrings.

CONTENT WARNING: Spicy sex.

Excerpt:

Seth leaned in. His lips were close enough to kiss, and his scent of sandalwood and something exotic enveloped her, taking her back to that night on the beach. His eyes flashed with the dangerous fire of his temper. It was similar to the flame of the passion she’d once seen in the green depths. Abby didn’t expect or want the heat curling in her belly, and shivered with a sudden and fierce desire.

“I’m her father, Abigail. I wanted to be her father after she was born. It was you and Mike who insisted I had no business messing things up.”

“I never said any such thing. You never tried. You just left.”

He pounded a fist on the counter top so hard she jumped. “Yes, I left! I wasn’t welcome at home. Dad ran me off with a shotgun. Mike wouldn’t even let me see my daughter. He made it quite clear you and he were happily married, and I had no place in your life. I was under contract to be in Nashville to start recording my first album.”

What did he mean, Mike wouldn’t let him see Emily?

Before she had a chance to voice her question, his eyes darkened as the pupils dilated, obscuring the stormy green. “But I’m no longer nineteen and scared shitless. I could make things very rough for you and this fantasy you’ve got working.”

A cold lump quickly replaced the tangle of heat in her belly. “What-what do you mean?”

He backed off and tapped the countertop. “I’m talking a custody battle. I could have a judge order a paternity test. I think we both know the media hoopla the results would cause.”

Her heart slammed into her chest wall. “You wouldn’t do that.”

“Try me. Now that I’ve met Emily, I want to get to know her.” He walked over to look out the kitchen window. The hard line of his jaw melted, and he swallowed so hard his throat moved up and down. “I was a fool when I let Mike talk me out of being in her life after she was born.”

“What do you mean?”

He glanced at her. “Don’t pretend you don’t know.”

The strings of guitar music provided a soft counterpoint to the hard tension in the kitchen. Emily was outside on the patio playing around with her guitar, waiting for them to finish with the dishes she and Seth had insisted on doing.

“All I want is to have some time with my daughter. That’s all I’m asking for.” When he looked over his shoulder at her, sadness replaced the anger in his eyes. “I’ll keep your little secret. I’ll just be her favorite singer. The family friend who made it big in Nashville. I don’t want to hurt her. As much as it galls the hell out of me, I see what Mike means to her.”

He moved toward her and shoved his hands into the pockets of his jeans. “Besides, I don’t want to hurt Carolann or Frank any more than you do.” He glanced outside again, his voice husky as he spoke. “But I’ll sue you if I have to.”

A part of her wanted to give in to him, but a larger part wanted to punish him. Let him take her to court; she’d make sure the world knew what kind of jerk Seth Kendall really was.

She gritted her teeth and fisted her hands by her sides. “I’ll let you have tonight, Seth. But don’t ask for more.”

She turned away and strode through the French doors.

~*~

To Hop along to the next blog click here!

Categories: Blog Hop, Heartstrings | Tags: , , , , , | 40 Comments

Post navigation

40 thoughts on “Lucky in Love Blog Hop

  1. I know I got lucky when it came to love, I met my hubby just before he went abroad for 2 years then ran into him at my work after he returned the rest they say is history :O) Carin
    mawmom at gmail dot com

  2. I love the story of how you met your husband, Sarah! Amazing that he was able to start school when he was only four. I started when I was five, and by the time I hit high school that difference in age was keenly felt. I also got a kick out of the “Smith” name, LOL.

    Congrats on your upcoming release. It sounds like a winner!

    maeclair (at) maeclair (dot) com

  3. Kim

    I’m a romance reader. I LOVE the happy ever after stories. Unfortunately, I wasn’t one of those girls who kissed the guy and magically I found my prince. Noooooooo….I had to kiss A LOT of frogs.

    But eventually, I did manage to find that one magically moment. So I can totally and completely tell you all that love at first site does exist.

    But I wil tototally and completely agree with you. Sometimes things have NOT been easy. But then if things were easy all the time, then you wouldn’t know how lucky you were to be with the you love and who loves you right back.

    Yes, I know this is a long message. Sorry. But I wanted to add I’m really interested in your book. I’m writing the title down so I’ll remember to look for it.
    kvmatlock(at)gmail(dot)com

  4. Wendy Pogrant

    Thanks for participating in the hop.
    wendy_pogrant@yahoo.com

  5. Sheri Fredricks

    What a lovely story of how you met your Hubs. Enjoyed your excerpt, too.
    sherifredricks @charter .net

  6. Kirsty

    Thanks for the hop!
    My e-mail is strwberrysuprise@hotmail.com
    strwberrysuprise[at]hotmail[dot]com

  7. Veronica

    Your story is adorable! I want to be that lucky in love

    xo_veronica16[at]hotmail[dot]com

  8. katsrus

    Loved your post. Still looking here. Thanks for being part of the blog hop.
    Sue B
    katsrus(at)gmail(dot)com

  9. I met my hubby when I was a junior in high school this year we are celebrating 25 years and 3 kids

    josiehink122026(at)gmail(dot)com

  10. I met my husband almost 20 years ago when our parents introduced us. Sometimes mom does know best.LOL

  11. Crystal

    What a sweet story. Sounds like you are lucky in love.

    Mindaf @aol.com

  12. D'Ann Lindun

    Love your story and stories, Sara!

  13. Nothing’s easy, right? Great story.

  14. Not lucky in love…YET!! Thanks for the hop! mikiajanai@yahoo.com

  15. Love the story. I am lucky in love, too. 😉
    -Kara

  16. I do believe in luck! Thanks for the hop!

    parisfan_ca@yahoo.com

  17. susan platt

    Great excerpt!

    susanmplatt AT hotmail DOT com

  18. Mary Roya

    Great tease!
    Thanks for being in the Happy St. Patrick’s Day blog hop.
    Happy St. Patrick’s Day, ya’ll!
    Keep writing so I can keep reading.
    Roya-clan@sbcglobal.net

  19. Natasha

    Thanks for the excerpt and the chance to win!
    Sounds really good!!
    natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

  20. Pingback: Six Sentence Sunday–More from Heartstrings | Romance Writer Sara Walter Ellwood

  21. I haven’t been lucky in love yet…but I hope to be soon!!
    Thanks for the great giveaway and for joining the hop!!!!
    Ashley A
    ash_app(at)hotmail(dot)com

  22. Pingback: Sneak Peek Sunday–More from Heartstrings | Romance Writer Sara Walter Ellwood

  23. thank you a lot for your participation in this hop. i’m entering only the grand prize. thanks
    happy St Patrick’s day

    isabelle(dot)frisch(at)gmail(dot)com

  24. Veronika

    Happy St. Patrick’s Day!
    verusbognar (at) gmail (dot) com

  25. JanD

    No luck in love yet.
    bituin76 at hotmail dot com

  26. Ellen Thompson

    I love the story of how you met your husband. I have not been that lucky in love but I still have hope that it will happen someday. I can’t wait to read Heartstrings. I have been wanting to read it ever since I read the blurb when I participated in the Romancing the West hop. Thanks for the great giveaway!
    thompsonem3 at aol dot com

  27. I’m still looking for my Lucky love. Happy St. Patrick’s Day

    Judy P
    strawberryrose@earthlink.net

  28. Unfortunately, I haven’t been lucky in love…. yet. I’m still hopeful my prince is around the corner. 🙂

    Jen
    admin.bookblog AT gmail.com

  29. grapeapril75

    We have great corned beef and sandwiches and chill. Not big on the whole parade and hoopla. Definitely wearing green though…don’t want to get pinched…although a spanking would be a different story!
    I have not yet been lucky in love, ie finding my soulmate, but hope springs eternal!
    grapeapril75(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  30. bn100

    Not lucky yet. Happy St. Patrick’s Day!
    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com

  31. Terri

    Unlucky so far but I have hope
    atthemapletable at yahoo dot com

  32. Pingback: Release Day Tasty Book Blast–Addicted to Ansley by Linda Kage | Romance Writer Sara Walter Ellwood

  33. BookLady

    I’ve been very lucky in love. I met my wonderful husband in college.
    Thanks for the giveaway!
    bhometchko(at)hotmail(dot)com

  34. vampedchik

    Great excerpt! No luck for me yet. Im still looking.
    -Amber
    goodblinknpark(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

  35. Krysta B.

    I’m not lucky in love at all 😦
    Thanks for the chance to win. Happy Saint Patty’s Day!

    Morganlafey86(at)aol(dot)com

  36. I loved hearing how you met your husband 🙂 Thanks for the great giveaway and chance to win

    june111(at)att(dot)net

  37. vicky b

    I am lucky in love mrsbrinius@comcast.net thanks!

  38. Daniel M

    liked the excerpt thanks for the hop – regnod(at)yahoo(d0t)com

  39. Meghan Stith

    What a great giveaway hop! I have yet to be lucky in love but I’m working on it. My favorite love book is “Outlander” by Diana Gabaldon. Jamie Fraser is amazing and beautiful. I enjoy St. Patty’s Day and this year I’m spending it with my best friend. We’re going to two Irish Pubs and also some dance clubs. I am also wearing green and am not a fan of getting pinched. I’m not Irish either, but many people think I am because my hair is red, my eyes green and my name is Meghan, but I’m not at all. I won’t be telling anybody that, however… let them believe I’m Irish.
    Thanks for the giveaway!

    mestith at gmail dot com

  40. Congratulations Susan Platt!! You won the copy of Heartstrings!

Don't forget to feed the horses.... They like comments!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

