Loving Western Movies by D’Ann Lindun

Cooper's Redemption by D'Ann Lindun, contemorary western romance.Today, I welcome my good friend and fantastic critique partner–the wonderfully talented D’Ann Lindun to the blog. She’s here to share her love of Western TV shows and Movies and to share a bit from her latest release Cooper’s Redemption, a contemporary western romance. Take it away, D’Ann…..

I grew up on western movies and TV shows. The first movie my parents took me to was How The West Was Won. I think I was around three months old! Like so many other fans of the western genre, I loved The Rifleman, Bonanza, The Big Valley and The Virginian on the television.

True Grit was filmed in and around Ridgway, Colorado, my hometown. The old café sat on the corner lot of Main and Railroad. My grandfather was the caretaker of the Hasting’s Mesa home used for the shoot. I’ve ridden across Debby’s Park, the same place John Wayne gallops his big sorrel with reins in teeth, guns blazing.

I love Clint Eastwood’s spaghetti westerns. Who doesn’t know the music from The Good, The Bad and The Ugly? My favorite of Eastwood’s films is The Outlaw Josey Wales. We have a poster of Clint Eastwood in that role hanging by our front door!

My dad, a cowboy, is featured in a western documentary. He’s also been in a Coors commercial and a cigarette ad. He’s been photographed by a million greenhorns he took riding into the Colorado mountains who admire his lifestyle.

Suffice to say I love the western genre. My books usually have some added suspense, too. I always wanted to write a heroine who loved western movies like I do. Meet Elizabeth Adams.

In Cooper’s Redemption, Elizabeth Adams lives in Los Angeles, but she’s come to Salt Lick, Colorado, to search for her missing mother…

He looked grim. “The only road ends at this cabin. There’s no reason for anyone but me to come up here.”

“Do you think this is where the rustlers are hiding out?”

He shrugged. “Who knows?”

“Well, I know how to find out.”  Elizabeth took a step before Cooper grabbed her from behind.

“Are you crazy? You can’t go busting in there. We don’t know who’s there, and what they’re doing.”

She squirmed in his grasp. “What do you propose?”

His grip on her tightened. “I think we need to go around and see if we can get a peek through the window.”

“Just like Butch and Sundance,” she whispered. “Or Emilio Estevez as Billy the Kid and William Petersen as Pat Garret before they became enemies . . . .”

“Who?”

Young Guns . . . at his puzzled look, she said, “Oh, never mind. Let’s do it. Which way do we go?” She wiggled out of his hold.

He led off. “This way. Be quiet.”

They circled wide, backtracking part of the way, eventually coming out at the rear of the cabin.

“Can we get closer? I can’t see anything from here.” Elizabeth wound her way through the trees. Something caught her eye and she stopped. As her vision focused on the object hidden in the forest, her knees went weak. “Oh my God.”

“What?” Cooper bumped into her rigid back.

Cooper’s Redemption

Blurb:

Elizabeth Adams is a Los Angles native who has always dreamed of living in the Rocky Mountains. She loves western movies and riding horses, and dreams of being a heroine in a western film. She gets her chance for real life adventure when her mother disappears from Salt Lick, Colorado, after going there to sell a ranch she inherited.

J.B. Cooper (just Cooper) is under suspicion for killing his neighbor, Henry Harper, over a water dispute. There is no evidence to convict him, but the shadow of doubt hovers around him. He just wants to be left in peace.

Circumstances throw Elizabeth and Cooper together when he tracks rustled cattle to her ranch … and discovers a body in the barn. Once again, he is the suspect in a suspicious death. Elizabeth is convinced Cooper had nothing to do with the murder of her cousin because to her, he’s a true western hero. Together, they search for her mother, clear Cooper’s name and fall in love along the way.

Bio:

Falling in love with romance novels the summer before sixth grade, D’Ann Lindun never thought about writing oneD'Ann Lindun author of contemporary westrn romantic suspenese until many years later when she took a how-to class at her local college. She was hooked! She began writing and never looked back. Romance appeals to her because there’s just something so satisfying about writing a book guaranteed to have a happy ending. D’Ann’s particular favorites usually feature cowboys and the women who love them. This is probably because she draws inspiration from the area where she lives, Western Colorado, her husband of twenty-nine years and their daughter. Composites of their small farm, herd of horses, five Australian shepherds, a Queensland heeler, nine ducks and cats of every shape and color often show up in her stories!

http://dlindunauthor.blogspot.com/

http://www.facebook.com/DLindunAuthor

http://www.amazon.com/DAnn-Lindun/e/B008DKL9TU

Categories: Lassoing the Words of Romance | Tags: , , , | 39 Comments

Post navigation

39 thoughts on “Loving Western Movies by D’Ann Lindun

  1. D'Ann Lindun

    Thanks for having me over today, Sara!

  2. Margaret Taylor

    I grew up on them too D’Ann! Love the wild west but could never write it. Love reading about them though!

  3. True Grit is an awesome movie – we own it! You grew up in God’s country. Best wishes on your release!

  4. The original True Grit was a great movie! How wonderful that you live where it was filmed. I too grew up in the era where Western movies and TV shows were popular and wish there were more today. But at least we can read the novels!

  5. Great post D’Ann…what a wonderful history your family and your hometown has. Love it. Like you, I loved Big Valley and Bonanza…and Clint Eastwood. I even tried to talk my hubs into naming our youngest son Clint Eastwood Warner…lol…but he wouldn’t go for it.

    Enjoyed the blurb and congrats on your release 🙂

  6. I was in Texas staying with an cousin for the summer when True Grit came out. I got so homesick after watching the scenery in the movie I had to come home. You just can’t take a Colorado girl out of Colorado for any length of time. LOL Thanks for the memories.

  7. D’Ann. You know I’m a huge western fan. I hope that with the release of The Lone Ranger and The Cisco Kid that it might rekindle westerns on TV.

  8. I grew up on Westerns, too. The Westerns channel is still a staple in the TV watching in the house. James Drury just makes me…warm.

  9. I remember going to see How the West Was Won at the drive-in when I was about 6! I’ve watched it countless times. And the original True Grit is one of my favorite movies–how cool is it that you’ve lived right there where it was filmed? Have you ridden across Debby’s Park with the reins in your teeth? 🙂

    Cooper’s Redemption sounds like a fantastic read! Best of luck with your sales!

    • D'Ann Lindun

      I haven’t ridden in Debby’s Park with the reins in my teeth, but I have had the reins in my teeth many other times, mostly while tying on a slicker!

  10. I love them too. And I love both True Grits. How cool that you have such a connection to these movies.

    • D'Ann Lindun

      I have never watched the new True Grit…couldn’t do it.

  11. Wonderful blurb. I tweeted.

  12. Great excerpt! As for westerns, I discovered Bonanza shortly after it went off the air and went into repeats, and then Lancer in 2001.Those are definitely my two favorites. Great stories about your father D’Ann. He must be something! Congrats on the new release.

  13. That is so cool! I’ve been in Colorado for 26 years and consider myself a native now. Couldn’t live anywhere else. We have a copy of the original True Grit as well. Love the Duke. 🙂 Congrats on your release! Great excerpt too!

    Cheryl G

  14. I love westerns too, and family history. Such great stories about your dad. Great excerpt and I look forward to reading another of your books.

  15. I wrote a bull riding story suspense thriller. I love bull riding. and suspense thrillers, so it seemed like a good idea. lol (I have not published it in fear of being sued.)

  16. D'Ann Lindun

    Why would you be sued? You should send to me for a lookie!

  17. Thanks so much everyone for stopping by! D’Ann, I’m with Sharon. I loved both True Grits. And LOL at your Young Guns reference in your excerpt. Believe it or not, that is one of my favorite western movies.

    • D'Ann Lindun

      Thanks for hosting me, Sara! I love young guns! Emilio Estevez just cracks me up!

  18. I can’t wait to read this book!!! And the cover is awesome!!! Congrats on the release, D’Ann!!!

  19. Great excerpt! My favorite Clint Eastwood movie, was Two Mules for Sister Sara.

  20. D'Ann Lindun

    I love that one!

  21. LOVE Clint Eastwood–and Outlaw Josey Wales is my favorite!!!!
    Got the gold right here, pa!!!!

  22. My favorite western is Silverado. I know it’s not a classic, but it introduced me to Kevin Costner. And I love the dialogue.
    When I was growing up, I used to devour Audie Murphy movies. Loved those when they reran on Saturday afternoons.

    Good luck with Cooper’s Redemption. Many sales wished for you.

  23. Fun stuff, D’Ann. All of it! 😀

  24. That’s so cool, D’Ann. Awesome post and excerpt!

  25. Not to harsh anyone’s buzz, but one of the saddest days of my life was when John Wayne died. I was just a kid, but the man had been like a member of our family since before I was born. Thanks for giving us a look into your special world, D’Ann, and best of luck with your books! Sophia

Don't forget to feed the horses.... They like comments!

Blog at WordPress.com.

