Sneak Peek Sunday–More from Heartstrings

contemporary, western, romance, romantic suspense, contemporary western romance, contemporary western, cowboy, cowboy romance, Texas romance, Native American romance, country music star romance, miltary romance

Welcome to Sneak Peek Sunday!  Today I share a little more from my contemporary western romance, Heartstrings, releasing next month! I can’t believe it! This book has been so close to being published so many times–The Wild Rose Press not once, but twice; it was the book that had signed me with an agent who sent it to Harlequin American (though I ended my contract with the agent); then it made it all the way to acquisitions at Carina and Samhain…. To finally have one last total overhaul before I found a home for it at Lyrical…

Heartstrings (formally known as “The Long Road Home”) will always have a special place in my heart.

Okay enough about that….

Here’s my Sneak Peek, taken from Chapter 5 and one of my favorite scenes.

He peered at her, his eyes burning with an emotion she couldn’t name–no, she wouldn’t name it. When he looked down at his guitar, a soft smile touched his lips. He hid most of his face under the brim of his hat.contemporary, western, romance, romantic suspense, contemporary western romance, contemporary western, cowboy, cowboy romance, Texas romance, Native American romance, country music star romance, miltary romance

The crowd settled as the band took their positions behind him. Seth pushed his trademark black Stetson back on his head and locked his gaze on Abby.

“I’d like to thank every last one of you. I can’t begin to tell you how much y’all mean to me. I wouldn’t be anything without y’all.” His voice was husky, and he readjusted his guitar strap around his neck. “When I was seventeen, Jimmy Gatlin asked me to sing on this stage. All I had was my mother’s old acoustic guitar. It was enough, I guess, because Jimmy kept telling me to come back.” He paused and bowed his head as the audience erupted with applause and whistles. When he looked up, he smiled and winked at Abby. “So, here I am again with my biggest fan from then in the audience.”

Although the passion of the crowd swept her away, she didn’t miss the play of emotions on his face. She understood what he hadn’t said, that there was as much pain in the memories as there was joy of those early years. John Kendall’s lack of pride in his talent had hurt Seth deeply.

When he strummed the opening to one of his early hit songs, she was as captivated as everyone else in the honky-tonk. Seth’s soulful voice spoke of love and loss, and she got lost in the words.

He seduced the entire room with his whiskey-smooth voice, and he pulled at the part of her soul that had always belonged to him. He couldn’t be more than a memory, but she sniffed at the burn in her sinuses as she wished Seth Kendall could be more.

Oh, what do you think? What’s sexier than a man who can sing?

~*~

Click here to check in with others offering Sneak Peeks

The rules are simple.

1. Sign up in the Linky List at http://sneak-peek-sunday.blogspot.com/. The Linky List will go live 12:01AM Monday and will close at 11:59PM Saturday night every week.

2. Post 6 paragraphs (no more, no less) from either a WIP or a published work. The post must be live by 9:00AM Sunday.

3. Open to both un-published and published authors.

4. Post the link back to Sneak Peek Sunday so that others can hop along.

5. HAVE FUN!!

Categories: Heartstrings, Sneak Peek Sunday | Tags: , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Sneak Peek Sunday–More from Heartstrings

  1. Congratulations to the end of a long frustrating road with this book. Great excerpt. I tweeted.

  2. Wow. I’m in. (Never knew I had a thing for country western singers until today.) Very nice, start to finish!

  3. Great sneak peek!

  4. D'Ann Lindun

    Love this book!

  5. This snippet aches with longing. Beautifully done.

  6. love it, Sara!

  7. Nikki Barrett

    YUM!

  8. Thanks everyone for stopping by!

  9. Pingback: Sneak Peek Sunday–More from Heartstrings | Romance Writer Sara Walter Ellwood

Don't forget to feed the horses.... They like comments!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

