Sneak Peek Sunday

Sneak Peek Sunday Banner

 

As Six Sentence Sunday draws near to its sad end, I’m starting something called Sneak Peek Sunday.  If anyone would like to join in on the fun, either leave me a comment or drop me an email at Flowerlady_23@yahoo.com and I’ll see what I can do about setting up a Linky List.

The rules are similar to Six Sentence Sunday, except you can post six paragraphs. No more or no less. Simple as that.

So without farther ado, this is from one of my current WIP–A Family for Jesse.  A contemporary western romance. The hero is country music superstar Gabe McKenna. The heroine is his one-time fiancée, champion cutting horse trainer and barrel racer Micki Finn. Micki just tracked Gabe down on his tour bus. He introduces her to his band and manager. But this isn’t a social call, she’s there to deliver news that will change his life forever…

(please forgive any errors, this has not been edited)

Jimmy nodded his head once and grunted then turned away and sat beside Robby at the table. He booted up a laptop computer as he lit a cigarette. Gabe got another beer out and set it on the table beside Jimmy. No word of thanks, no acknowledgment came from the man now tapping on keys, and talking on the phone at the same time. No doubt, Jimmy would be dead from a coronary by the time he was sixty.

At least, he was here and not thatwoman. Before Micki could let Gabe’s betrayal bog her down any farther than she already was, she tipped her hat at the motley men of the band.

“Hello. I prefer being called Micki. Gabe’s the only one who’s ever really called me Michaela.” Her smile was stiff as she grasped the beer bottle Gabe held toward her, careful not to touch the man taking up more than his share of space beside her. She shouldn’t drink, she had a long drive back to Bluebonnet Creek, Texas, but she needed it more now than ever.

Joel, Gabe’s other guitarist and backup singer, pushed his long blond hair from his face and looked her up and down from where he lounged on the couch. “You’re not a groupie. You’re the ex.”

Taken aback, Micki glanced at Gabe, who took a big swig of his beer. They hadn’t been together since Gabe decided he was tired of cowboying and singing in honky-tonks and decided to hightail it to Nashville only two days before their wedding five years ago.

With another woman.

So, what you think?  Would you like to join the fun?

Categories: Sneak Peek Sunday | Tags: , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Sneak Peek Sunday

  1. karen

    send me a email on the list to join sneak peak sunday

  2. woolfcindy

    I’d love to join in the fun. Loved the excerpt. Six paragraphs is a great tease. Thanks for starting this.
    Cindy

  3. Awesome idea! I was wondering what would happen now that SSS is drawing to a close. Sign me up!!

    And love the excerpt. Great job! 🙂

  4. This sounds like a lot of fun. I missed Six Sentence Sunday, so I’d love to join the fun this time.

  5. Great 6 – love the idea – happy to join in – I’ll send you an email.

  6. I was already to join 6 sentence Sunday when I found out it was ending – but cheers for you for starting this. I’m in. I will contact you by email.
    Oh and before i forget what a great 6 paragraphs.

  7. Wonderful, Sara.

  8. Great six!!

  9. Thanks everyone! I’ve set up the Linky List on my blogger site… the link is here http://cowboycharm.blogspot.com/

    I’m super excited about this! See you next week….

Don't forget to feed the horses.... They like comments!

Blog at WordPress.com.

