New Year’s Blog Hop

Floral Background in Black and Gold Colors

It’s another year over! Can you believe it? Well we authors, readers, and bloggers sure can’t. And to celebrate the New Year with bang, we’re going crazy and sending out so many prizes, fun parties, experiences, and other goodies, that it’s a bit scary. Each author has a favorite New Year memory, book, idea, or way to party and we’re going to show you! Can’t wait to see you January 1st – 6th!

And while we do that, we are EACH doing a giveaway. Yep. There will be over 200 giveaways on each blog hosted by that Author or Blogger.

But that’s not all….

We have THREE grand prizes. You as a reader can go to EACH blog and comment with your email address and be entered to win. Yep, you can enter over 200 times!

****PLEASE LEAVE YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS TO QUALIFY****

Now what are those prizes?

1st Grand Prize: A Kindle Fire or Nook Tablet

2nd Grand Prize: A $300 Amazon or B&N Gift Card

3rd Grand Prize: A Swag Pack that contains paperbacks, ebooks, 50+ bookmarks, cover flats, magnets, pens, coffee cozies, and more!

(Swag Pack eligible to US residents only, an international prize is available. All other prizes are international.)

.

 Now for my prize:

An ARC copy of Gambling On A Secret

.

~*~

.

An Exciting 2013

This New Year will undoubtedly be a memorable one for me. I have two books coming out within days of each other. My alter ego’s A Hunter’s Blade

Brigit Wolfe, a born werewolf, hasn't killed a human in over a hundred years, although now she wonders if the animal attacking people in Silver Creek, Colorado, isn't her...  click on the cover for more.

Brigit Wolfe, a born werewolf, hasn’t killed a human in over a hundred years, although now she wonders if the animal attacking people in Silver Creek, Colorado, isn’t her… click on the cover for more.

is being released everywhere by The Wild Rose Press on January 2 and my debut contemporary western Gambling On A Secret will be released on January 7 by Lyrical Press.

The most exciting thing about the upcoming release of Gambling On A Secret came when I discovered bestselling author Carolyn Brown (Just a Cowboy and His Baby) named it, along with Perfect Timing by Jill Mansell, Cowboy Crazy by Joanne Kennedy, and A Creed in Stone Creek by Linda Lael Miller, as one of her favorite romance reads of 2012 on the Happy Ever Blog on USA Today.gamblingonasecretUSATODAY

Her agreeing to read the book to give me a cover quote amazed me, but needless to say her naming me among other great romance authors floored me and made this release all the more thrilling.

So, do you have anything exciting to happen in 2013?

Happy and Healthy 2013!

.

~*~

.

Releasing January 7 from Lyrical Press

Available NOW!

Lyrical Press  | Amazon  | Bookstrand  | Barnes and Noble

 

Checkout the info for my mega book tour stops and some awesome prizes starting January 3 HERE

.

When Charli bets everything on a secret, will she find the deck stacked against her?

gamblingonasecretsmcqFormer runaway-turned heiress Charli Monroe is hiding her sordid past and planning a future in Colton, Texas. Attending the local college for a degree in social work, she intends to raise cattle on her newly purchased ranch, which she plans to open as a home for troubled teens. Only a few glitches—the Victorian mansion is crumbling, the barn needs a roof, and her oilman neighbor wants more than friendship. When she meets Dylan Quinn, Charli is willing to take a chance on the town drunk to help her rebuild the rundown ranch.

Dylan has his demons, too. The former Special Forces commander can’t get past his ex-wife’s betrayal and the botched mission that left him with much more than a bad limp. Certain the greedy oilman next door to Charli wants much more than just her heart, Dylan’s even willing to stop drinking in order to protect her.

When things get dangerous and secrets of the past are revealed, is he only looking out for his new employer, or is she the new start he so desperately needs?

CONTENT WARNING: Details abuse of a minor, drug abuse, alcoholism, swearing, spicy sex, murder.

COVER QUOTE: “Full of intrigue, tangled pasts, and raw emotions, this one is guaranteed to keep you turning pages from start to finish and then wishing for one more chapter!”
Carolyn Brown, New York Times bestselling author of Just a Cowboy and His Baby.

.

Excerpt:

“Ferguson, what are you doing here?” Dylan barked.

Leon ambled toward them on the stone path. “I’m saving a young maiden from torment. What are you doing here, playing the part of the devil?”

“I’m Miss Monroe’s new manager.” The deadly edge of his voice matched the flintiness of his eyes. “If there’s anyone to save the young maiden from, it’s you.”

“Mr. Quinn, please.” She turned to Leon. “Leon, is there something I can do for you?”

He smiled, showing off perfect white teeth in a face handsome enough to belong to an actor. “I was just passing by on my way home and decided to stop. How are the boys working out?”

Dylan’s stance widened and his hands flexed at his slides. “What boys?”

“Charli and I have entered into a business arrangement.”

She lost the battle with the urge to wrap her arms around herself. As much as she appreciated Leon’s kindness, respected him, and was even a little attracted to him, something about him didn’t sit right with her. He represented her peers in the community. According to Mrs. Pratt, besides the Cartwrights, she and Leon were undoubtedly the wealthiest residents in the county. No one in Colton could learn about her past. It would ruin her, and Leon, no doubt, had the means to dig up the dirt.

“Really?” Dylan stepped closer to her in a protective manner. Whiskey tainted his breath as the warmth of the exhalations tickled her cheek. “What kind of business arrangement?”

She could protect herself. Dylan Quinn wasn’t any safer than Leon Ferguson. Stepping away from him, she forced her arms to her sides. “Mr. Quinn, I can handle this.”

She faced Leon. “I’m amazed by how much the men got done since starting on Monday. The foreman told me last evening they’d be reseeding another fifty acres for hay this morning. And they have the corrals fixed and started on the fencing in the north pasture.”

“Good, good.” He glanced at Dylan. “I’ll be going, unless you need a more reliable exterminator. I couldn’t help but overhear about your snake infestation. I can give you the name of the company that has gotten rid of the snakes in our lakes over on Oak Springs for years.”

Although he presented the perfect solution, she didn’t the like way Leon had looked at Dylan as he said the word exterminator. “No, Mr. Quinn is quite capable of getting rid of the snake.”

“Oh, I’m sure he is.” Leon tipped his hat. “Let me know if there’s anything else I can do for you, Charli.” Dylan’s jaw tightened as his uncle glanced at him. “It’s good to see you up among the living again.”

Leon headed back to his Porsche. With no pretense of lowering his voice, Dylan said, “Now, there’s a snake no one wants in their garden.”

Upon hearing the jibe, Leon’s shoulders jerked in mid-stride.

Rattled by Leon’s attention and the snake fiasco, she turned on Dylan. “You aren’t off the hook. I want those snakes gone.”

“We’ll see.”

“I hate snakes.” She shuddered and put her hands on her hips. “Maybe I should have asked him who the exterminator is.”

.

~*~

.

Click here for the list of Blog Hop Participants 

.

Categories: Blog Hop, Gambling On a Secret | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 64 Comments

Post navigation

64 thoughts on “New Year’s Blog Hop

  1. Happy New Year’s, Sara. I sure do have something exciting happening in 2013. My debut novel PROTECTOR releases with Lyrical Press on Jan 7th. I’m so excited. Thanks for the chance to be in your draw.
    joannewadsworth007@gmail.com

  2. I just left a comment on your other page for Hunters Blade. Both books look good. You should have a successful year.

    p.winmill@hotmail.com

  3. ratmom

    Thanks for taking part in the blog hop and Happy New Year.

    miztik_rose@yahoo.com

  4. Happy New Year, Sara! Congratulations on making the USA Today Best of 2012 list – how awesome is that?!? Best wishes for a happy and productive 2013 🙂

  5. Rita Wray

    Great excerpt, thank you. Happy New Year.

    Kit3247(at)aol(dot)com

  6. susan platt

    Happy New Year!

    susanmplatt AT hotmail DOT com

  7. Kassandra

    Thank you so much for the chance!

    Kassandra
    sionedkla@gmail.com

  8. Aloha!

    Thank you for participating. This is fun!

    Michel_Lee_King(at)yahoo(dot)com

  9. Jo

    We’re planning a family reunion vacation this year and I am really looking forward to it.

    jochibi AT yahoo DOT com

  10. laurie g

    Thanks for the great hop.Happy New Year!

    parisfan_ca@yahoo.com

  11. Wow, Cera/Sara, It looks like 2013 is already off to a great start for you! Congrats on both releases. I’m especially looking forward to “A Hunter’s Blade”!

    debrastjohn08@yahoo.com

  12. Joy F

    Thanks for the great hop.
    magic5905 at embarqmail dot com

  13. Elie

    Happy 2013 and thanks for the fun!
    zenfoxflowerATyahooDOTcom

  14. Thanks so much for a great beginning to a New Year.
    kp_kazamei(at)yahoo(dot)com

  15. super kewl giveaway, thanks for participating!
    jennirv4967 at gmail dot com

  16. There are several books I am looking forward to…Bianca Sommerland has a new one in the Dartmouth Cobra series and The next generation of the Compass family continues with Winter’s Thaw by Mari Carr and Jayne Rylon.
    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

  17. Lisa Walker Liese2

    I am really looking forward to new releases by JD Robb. Thanks for the chance and Happy New Year!
    sqwalker2@hotmail.com

  18. chellesy

    Happy New Year!

    chellesy.clay at gmail dot com

  19. vicky

    Happy New Year!
    thanks
    Mrsbrinius at comcast dot net

  20. Shannon Kurta

    Happy New Year!

    Shana7426@aol.com

  21. Dawna Newman

    Nothing exciting this year, Just spend time with my family and maybe complete my reading challenges this year.

    vampiremistress2010(at)gmail(dot)com

  22. Sandra

    Nothing too exciting going on here 🙂 Family time, relaxing, and reading as many books as possible.

    Thanks for the chance and hope your new year is a great one!

  23. jeannie platt

    Thanks for the excerpt and for being part of the hop. Happy New Year

    j.m.platt83@gmail.com

  24. Diane

    Wonderful hop!

    diane dot sadler at gmail dot com

  25. Nothing too exciting happening for 2013 – just want to finish school & find a decent job! 🙂 But I’ll be stoked if those 2 things happen.
    Happy New Year 🙂

    readsalot81 at hotmail dot com

  26. Happy New Year! Congratulations on making the USA Today Best of 2012 list. Wishing you the best new year and may you accomplish all your future goals this year.

    mrsqueentutt@gmail.com

  27. Happy New Year!

    What a great cover!

    ~*Drea*~
    dreabecraft(@)aol.com

  28. Judy

    HAPPY NEW YEAR! Both your books sound great. I have loved doing the Blog Hop but it is increasing my book want list off the charts. What a great problem to have though.

    Judy
    strawberryrose@earthlink.net

  29. Nikki Trettel

    Thanks for taking part in the blog hop and Happy New Year. Looking forward to your new release!

    nikki.t.23@gmail.com

  30. Mimi

    Starting college.

    Happy New Year!

    anasmithblue@gmail.com

  31. This year I am planning on going to a naughty book convention…And taking my Gran! LOL
    I hope I win this cause I just added Gambling on a Secret to my TBR list!!

    grapeapril75(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  32. Cassandra Hicks

    There’s always exciting things happening around here lol
    Thanks for the awesome giveaway!
    cassandrahicks1989@yahoo.com

  33. Jbst

    Thanks for being part of the Hop! Plan to visit my friend in Shanghai, which I’m so excited about.

    strive4bst(At) yahoo(Dot) com

  34. alice dellanova

    I should be publish my first novel! 🙂
    Thanks for the hop!

  35. The family is having 3 wonderful events happening this year. My daughter is graduating from college, my brother & his wife are having a baby, and my nephew & his wife are also having a baby. My brother will be a father and grandfather again…LOL
    Happy New Year
    koonie2888 at yahoo dot com

  36. JanD

    Nothing exciting planned but who knows.
    bituin76 at hotmail dot com

  37. Best thing to happen to me in 2012 was my 15 year old daughter was finally given a clean bill of health from her dr and she is back to being a normal teenager. She got a pacemaker at 11 and I had to quit work to stay home with her. As a single mom of 3 girls that was hard. But thanks to God She is now doing Great. I hope to soon return to work now 😀
    Missie Jones
    missie25524 (at) netzero (dot) com

  38. bn100

    to exercise more
    Happy new year!
    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com

  39. Pingback: Guest Blog–Out with the Old and in with the New! by Nancy Gideon | Romance Writer Sara Walter Ellwood

  40. Penumbra

    Nothing exciting planned, but I hope to travel some.

    penumbrareads(at)gmail(dot)com

  41. Dita Škarste

    My goal is to To find a job I love!

    dita(dot)skarste(at)gmail(dot)com

  42. Carla

    I made a goal to be kinder to myself this year. I often do things for other people to the detriment of myself.
    planterofhope at aol dot com

  43. Jennifer Rote

    My goal for 2013 is to be more active. I didn’t follow through on my 2012’s.
    Jennifer Rote
    wildnmild4u at yahoo dot com

  44. I resolve to meet the goal of finishing the polishing of my first book in the Existence series and to submit it to agents/publishers. That’s my planned excitement.

    j.lennidorner@facebook.com

    Happy New Year from What-Are-They.com ! I hope you have a great one. Thanks for taking part in the hop.

  45. Dione Sage

    No resolutions for me this year, gonna see what happens!
    Thank you for participating in the New Year Blog Hop!
    Best Wishes in 2013
    uilani25 (at) hotmail (dot) com

  46. donnas1

    Happy New Year!!

    bacchus76 at myself dot com

  47. Michelle Tucker

    I don’t do resolutions, but it’s my hope that I’ll get my finances in order this year! That’s about as exciting as I get. Happy 2013!
    michelletucker at baconnation dot net

  48. Toni Porter

    Happy New Year, and thank you so much for participating in this hop. I love being introduced to authors I haven’t read before!
    tp DOT quixotic AT gmail DOT com

  49. Happy New Year,thanks for the chance to win.

    dragonkeep62(at)gmail(dot)com

  50. rhireading

    Happy new year and thanks for the giveaway!

    always.and.never AT gmail DOT com

  51. Veronika

    Happy New Year to you!
    verusbognar (at) gmail (dot) com

  52. Mary Doherty

    I hope I have something exciting happening in 2013! lol
    gatormaryd(at)yahoo(dot)com

  53. thanks for the hop
    myboo63@hotmail.com

  54. Daniel M

    happy new year and thanks for the giveaway! – regnod(at)yahoo(d0t)com

  55. Stacey

    Happy New Year!!

    No exciting plans here…not for at least 2 years 🙂

    staceyprice(at)gmail(dot)com

  56. Natasha

    Thanks for the chance to win!
    Happy New Year!
    natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

  57. Shadow

    Hi! Happy New Years! Thanks for the awesome hop and all the giveaways! This is so fun! I love these hops! I always meet new authors, reconnect with old ones and my TBR list grows by leaps and bounds! Thank you!! Have a great day! Best wishes and many blessings to you!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  58. Pingback: Six Sentence Sunday | Romance Writer Sara Walter Ellwood

  59. Jennifer

    Happy New Year to all and thanks for the hop.
    jkgf27@verizon.net

  60. Maureen

    My daughter will be graduating this year.
    Happy New Year!
    mce1011 AT aol DOT com

  61. Thank you very much for the great giveaway and fun blog hop!
    I wish you a very Happy New Year!
    Latisha D
    tishajean@ charter.net

  62. Happy new year,
    r.d1@myfairpoint.net

  63. Stacy O

    Thanks for the giveaway. Hopefully 2013 will bring a new job…

    amnell(dot)khalan(at)gmail(dot)com

  64. Congratulations Judy!! You just won the copy of Gambling On A Secret!

    Thanks to everyone who stopped by!

Don't forget to feed the horses.... They like comments!

Blog at WordPress.com.

