A Day to Remember…

Country singer Alan Jackson asked this question years ago with his hit, “Where Were You When the World Stopped Turning?”

Today, on the tenth anniversary of the 9/11 Attacks, I must say, I remember exactly what I was doing and what I was feeling. Being born in the late sixties, I often heard my mother and others say they remembered exactly what they were doing when President John Kennedy was shot. Or those older, would say they remember the day Pearl Harbor was attacked. Up until 9/11, the only event I could relate to leaving such an impression on my life was the Space Shuttle Columbia disaster. But even then, those memories have long since faded into the back of my mind. I don’t really remember everything.

The terrorist attacks on the United States changed that.

I’ll never forget that day, or the cold shock and sorrow I experienced afterward. Emotions I’m reliving as I write this article. On that Tuesday morning, I was stirring a pot of vegetable soup, my son almost 5yr son was watching TV and my 1 yr old daughter was playing in the living room. I had a few hours before I had to get ready for work that evening. I’ll never forget when they broke into the show the kids were watching to announce that a plane had crashed into the World Trade Center. I ran to the living room to see what was going on, when the second plane crashed into the other tower. I just remember thinking, Oh, God, that can’t be an accident. As the media tried to make sense of it, I watched with horror as the Towers, icons of the NY City skyline, crashed down.

I sat there with tears in my eyes and knew the world was no longer as safe as I had always thought. And that our world would never be the same. It is a day I’ll never forget.

Today, I said a prayer for those who died, those who continue to serve and those who, like me, just wish we could finally have peace.

God Bless America on this day and all of those brave men and women who lost their lives–from those trapped in the planes that crashed, to those who perished in the crumbling buildings, to those emergency personnel who responded, to those of our Armed Services who have fought for peace.

Do you remember when the world stopped turning?

Categories: Insights | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Don't forget to feed the horses.... They like comments!

Blog at WordPress.com.

