A Is for Afghan Throw Blankets

For a while now, I’ve seen this idea around the blogs. The ABC blogs. Where the blogger writes about a topic staring with each letter of the alphabet.  After some thought, I’ve decided to jump into the flame and start this series on my blog.

So, today I’m writing on a topic that begins with the letter A. And that topic is afghans. I’ve crocheted off and on again for years. I made my first afghan when I was only 12 or 13 years old. It was created from rainbow of different colored yarn, anything I could get my hands on. from scraps from my mom and aunt. I still have the thing and this is a photo of it. Of course, after 30+ years, the thing is starting to look a little shabby.

IMG_0014

I’ve made dollies, pillows (these two I just made this winter for my bedroom decor), and even tried my hand at a scarf once.

IMG_0016

I don’t mind making pillows. Dislike working with the thin dolly thread and never quite finished the scarf. But afghans? I love making them.

This one I made about 20 years ago. It’s been well used on the back of my couch. So it really has seen it’s better days.

IMG_0012

This one I made my daughter when she was baby. Since she’s a teenager now, I will pack them away for my grandbabies someday.

Here’s my latest creation. I made this one over Christmas break (I took a week of vacation). It’s made using one of my favorite patterns—the granny square. It’s a nine-patch, so the squares are huge. The finished size almost fits a twin-sized bed.

IMG_0011

This is the one I’m working on now. It has a long way to go before it’s completely finished, but I’m hoping to have it done by spring. It will go on my loveseat and will have matching pillows.

IMG_0013

I’m planning to make another afghan of a different pattern for the couch, but made from the same colors.

These aren’t the only afghans I’ve made. I’ve made baby blakets for friends and a few for gifts. The unique thing about me is I make up all my own designs. I’ve never learned to read pattern books and can’t make any sense of them. But I can look at a finished product and figure it out. I also took a long break between the last time I’d gotten into crocheting and this time. But it’s like riding a bike, I haven’t forgotten how to do it. Of course, it will take me a while to finish anything too big since I only crochet while I’m watching TV.  But I find it relaxing and a different way to create.

9 Comments

Filed under Insights

9 responses to “A Is for Afghan Throw Blankets

  1. They are lovely and so bright and colorful. I love to crochet but carpel tunnel damage slowed me down a lot. I make baby quilts with flannel fabrics now. I bet your rooms are pretty with your afghan throw blankets. Thanks for sharing.

  2. vicki

    I love handmade goods. I grew up embroidering, started at age 9. Didn’t sew well despite the lessons. Had a grandmother and aunts and a mom who could do it all. Then a few years ago, I taught myself needlepoint. I like it. I can get into the rhythm of the project and think, letting my head work on my stories. And I also think creativity brings other creative aspects out of us. Great crochet! Don’t stop.

    • My grandmother used to embroider and I can do that too, but like with my quilting I gave it up because it causes too much wrist pain. Also I HATE cross stitch and a lot of the pretty embroidery patterns has way too many Xs on them…LOL And I agree, whether it’s crocheting or working in my garden, it’s great for the mind and my muse. which hasn’t been behaving itself as of late and seemed to decide to go on a several month long vacation without me. Thank you!

  3. I learned how to crochet in college and made an afghan with a zigzag pattern. I love that blanket and still have it in my cabinet. What a great way to pass the time.

    • I LOVE the zigzag pattern.. I usually make that one for my baby blankets and gifts. I’m planning my next afghan to be that pattern, which I’m keeping. And it is a great way to pass the time. Thank you for coming by.

  4. Pretty! Crocheting is on my bucket list of things to learn. We’ll see if it happens. :-)

    • Thanks… I learned to crochet when I was about 8 or 9. When I’d get frustrated with my mom’s teaching, I’d go to my aunt’s snd she’d teach me. The one thing I’d like to learn is knitting, but the one time I tried, it frustated me.

  5. I can knit, but I’ve never been able to master crocheting. Wish I could – I’d love to make an afghan! These are beautiful, Sara.

Don't forget to feed the horses.... They like comments!

