NaNo

NaNo and NaNoWriMO are two acronyms most writers know and know well. The letters stand for National Novel Writing Month… or as a lot of writers affectionately call it “I have to be crazy month!” The goal of NaNo is to write a novel during the busy month of November.

I’ve been crazy—I mean insightful—enough to do NaNo twice. The first time, I wrote about the first 52,000 words on a novel I was writing just for fun, a Star Wars fan fiction story that a year later topped the scale at a very verbose 225,000 words.  (It really was three books in one.) The second time was  last year. I wrote 65,000 words of the second book of my Cowboy’s of Colton series. That book finished a few weeks later at 95,000 words.

This year I’m not doing NaNo, but I love the kick in the pants it gives me.  In order to have the required 50,000 words by the end of November, a writer must not only write every day, but also produce at least 1,500 words every day.  Not difficult if the ideas flow easily and life doesn’t dump on you at the same time.

The other reason I’m not participating this year is that the book you sign up to write must be something new.  I’m not ready to abandon my current work in progress to start something new.  I need to get this book done.  My goal is to have it finished by the end of the month. I have roughly 40,000 words yet to write.  Should be a piece of cake, but for some reason I’m struggling.  Life has dumped on me big time this past two months.  I also have obligations regarding the editing of my short vampire romance that I
recently sold to The Wild Rose Press.

However, I need that energy, that sense of competition to get me inspired to get this darned book done!

So, I’m doing my own version of NaNo… My goal—either 50,000 words or my book’s completion by the end of the month.

My prize?  Well, a girl can always use a day of shopping.

I’ll post my word count totals here on my blog every other day, so you all can help cheer me on.

Well, I guess I better get writing.

7 Comments

Filed under Writing

7 responses to “NaNo

  1. Congrats on doing it your own way Sara! I know that you can reach your goal. I’ve never tried NaNo and I think that I would struggle and feel pressured to write, which in turn would make me freeze up. Plus I have that eternal editor in me. I wish everyone that does it luck and hope they reach their goals. I wish it was something I could do, but don’t want to give myself any stress to do it. So, I will continue to write, as slowly as it seems to be going.

    Looking forward to checking in and seeing how you’re doing! Luck!!!

  2. Sounds good! I’m doing my own goals too:)

  3. I’ll cheer you on. I just subscribed to your blog so I’ll get a notification when you post.

  4. Yay, Sara!! I’m cheering you on! I’ll go make more coffee too.

  5. jerridrennen

    Sara, you go, girl. I hope you get your 50,000 words.

  6. Thanks for cheering me on, everyone!

  7. Pingback: Lucky 7 Meme |

Don't forget to feed the horses.... They like comments!

